1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

wifi will randomly stop working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Frontier164, Aug 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    So I have a computer I built and have an intel centrino advanced N 6205 wifi thing. My wifi is usually fine, but randomly my wifi will completely stop working and I'll pretty much just have to wait until it comes back. I used the intel diagnostic thing and it failed the ping test giving the error no response: default gateway, DHCP server.

    Is there anything I can do to try to fix this problem?

    edit: also I'm on windows 7

    also I notice this usually when I'm playing csgo but it happens other times as well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,516
    First Name:
    Allan
  3. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    ok, I already checked if the drivers were updated through the windows thing but that may not have worked. I just installed the ones you linked and ill update if it helped. Thanks
     
  4. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,516
    First Name:
    Allan
    Ok, fingers crossed then.
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA It's My Birthday! Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,378
    First Name:
    David
    I would NEVER install any drive from Windows Update unless is was for a Microsoft made device.

    Any third party device drive from Windows Update may be older than the one you currently have. It takes that much time for Microsoft to "Approve" these drivers.
     
  6. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Sadly that didn't fix it. The same problem happened again :/
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,516
    First Name:
    Allan
  8. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    jesus you;re fast lol. I will right now and will update you
     
  9. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 16328 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 119 GB (4 GB Free); H: 1863 GB (82 GB Free);
    Motherboard: MSI, Z87-G43 (MS-7816)
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Enabled and Updated

    i can also get my router model if that would help
     
  10. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,516
    First Name:
    Allan
    Ok post the router model, it could help. I'll have to think about this now so I won't be as fast this time !
     
  11. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Its a fios quantum gateway. I'm not sure if there is a specific model number
     
  12. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,516
    First Name:
    Allan
    That's enough for now thanks.

    Is the wireless on a plugin card or built-in to the motherboard (I don't see it mentioned on the motherboard website).
     
  13. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    I have an intel centrino advanced n 6205 plugged jnto thr motherboard
     
  14. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,516
    First Name:
    Allan
    Ok, the actual N6205 is tiny so I suspect it's mounted onto a plugin-in card like the one in the picture. If so there will be connectors for antenna(s) on the back of the PC, can you see any ?
    If you can I would open the case and take the card out and clean the 'gold' contacts on the bottom with an eraser. Make sure you remove any bits of rubber before putting it back in the socket, you can use a tissue for that.

    [​IMG]

    Source :- https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=intel_6205_wlan&num=2
     
  15. Frontier164

    Frontier164 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Did you mean the connectors from the card to the antenna or the pci-e or whatever its called that goes into the motherboard? Anyway, I cleaned the antenna things and also noticed that the two wires from the antenna correspond to a port on the chip. I'm not sure if I had them in the wrong ports/if that would effect anything but maybe it was the cause of the problem.

    Edit: anyway i'll play some cs, see if it keeps happenign and ill update
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1214418

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice