WiFi Won't Remember To Connect. Help!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

spirittoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
Messages
648
I have Ralink software with a Orafy USB 802.IIN adapter. Every time I boot up I have to open the Ralink config and have it search for my network then I have to sign in.

Some times when I have it look for my network I get an empty "Available Networks" box ... and the only way to get it to show my network again is to disconnect and reconnect the USB adapter. How do I tell it to remember the connection so I don't have to sign in every time I boot up? :eek:

The closest thing I found to doing it was in the "Profile List" When making a profile it asked about "Use Pre-logon Connection" and I checked the box, but when I booted up again I lost my network and had to unplug and replug the USB adapter in order to get it back. I had to go through signing in again to get access. :rolleyes:

So is there a way to get it to remember ... so far I can't find it. :confused:

Thanks for reading my post.
:)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,394
If WZC is also running you need to kill it: Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services - the Startup Type should be 'Disabled' for the Wireless Zero Configuration service. Remember to change this back to Automatic if you decide to stop using the Ralink utility.
 

spirittoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
Messages
648
Well sir I gave that a shot and it didn't work ... I also when into the control panel into network connects and right clicked on the properties of the wireless connection ... clicked on the advance tab and checked the box in the internet connection sharing "Allow other network users to connect through this computer's Internet connection check box." ... that didn't work either ... :((n)
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,394
Then try using XP's WZC with the Ralink utility disabled. (Don't know about the Ralink, but many of those utilities have a "use Windows" option, which will stop them from running.)
 

spirittoo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2002
Messages
648
Hi terry ... I have no idea what happen, but now when I boot up I'm connected. I was trying to hook up the way I always do with Ralink, there was nothing in the box so I disconnect then reconnect the USB adapter when it does that. Got the box with my network, signed in and everything, but no connection. There was a message in the system tray about connecting ... I clicked on it something in Windows open stated if found a network and to click the connect button. After that when I boot up I have a connection. I did nothing, every thing I changed ... I changed back ... so I don't know why it is working. :confused:
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,394
I guess it's better to have a mystery working than a mystery not working. :) Or something like that.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top