1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Wifi working on phone but not working on Laptop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Windhead, Jan 18, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Windhead

    Windhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Hello,

    Been struggling with my office wifi for sometime now. It works on my Windows 10 laptop with a LAN cable but doesn't work on wireless (constant disconnection, sometimes just wouldn't connect, sometimes it would connect and show internet access but internet wouldnt work). It works effortlessly on LAN and even wifi on my phone and other devices in the offices.

    Request your help.

    Thanks

    Laptop - Windows 10
    Modem - D-Link DSL-224 ; ADSL/VDSL

    ipconfig/all -

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : lenovo
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 04-7D-7B-B7-D6-12
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 4:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 12-68-9D-FD-87-7D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Apple Mobile Device Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.11(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.240
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 18 January 2018 01:08:43 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2018 12:54:20 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 631413147
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-3F-D1-4F-04-7D-7B-B7-D6-12
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.20.10.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet 3:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Kaspersky Security Data Escort Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-08-15-3D-25
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.name
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR9485WB-EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-68-9D-FD-87-7D
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth PAN HelpText
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 20-68-9D-FE-25-89
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,059
    First Name:
    David
    Can you connect to some other WiFi hot spot?
     
  3. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    14,470
    First Name:
    Liz
    It would help if you post the brand and exact model of the Win 10 laptop.
    Did it come with Win 10 or was if upgraded from another version of Windows?

    What Win 10 build are you using? When did the problem first surface?
     
  4. Windhead

    Windhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Yes, infact I can use my home connection which has the same ISP and same modem, perfectly well!

    I am using a Lenovo U410 laptop. It came with Windows 7 and I later updated to Win 10.

    I am using Win 10 Home, 64 bit. Version 1703 (OS Build 15063.786).

    The problem has been going on - on & off for last few weeks. Earlier there was a different modem. When I complained, they changed the modem to the current one and it did not change anything and the problem remained same or got worse. Now when I am in office, I have to connect to internet using my phone while my phone is connected to the said Wifi.
     
  5. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    14,470
    First Name:
    Liz
    I was going to look for the latest Atheros driver for your version of Windows 10 but the fact that it works perfectly fine at home, tells me you have the correct driver.

    If it keeps disconnecting at the office but not at home, this points to an issue with the office network because the laptop is the same, the modem is the same and even the ISP is the same.
     
  6. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,340
    First Name:
    Darrin
    You don't have a static ip assigned to your Laptop?
     
  7. Windhead

    Windhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    The laptop works fine with every other network but my office's! The other thing is that other devices that are connected to the office wifi work fine too - the wifi printer / phones / other laptops - no issue!

    I had initially thought that either the line or the modem were faulty but the ISP technical folks checked the line, it was okay & replaced the modem. Still same issue! Do you think the wifi name or some other setting may be causing this?

    Nope. The laptop is set to 'assign IP/ DNS automatically' if that's what you're asking.

    Thanks!
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,294
    First Name:
    Terry
    You probably are using an incorrect or out of date driver. But instead of us guessing or arguing you could just download the latest from the laptop manufacturer's web site and install it.

    What differences do you find between your office and home wireless networks (channel, encryption type, potential interference from other networks, etc.)?
     
  9. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,340
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Are the routers using the same wifi security such as WPA2, WPA, WEP, etc? Have you tried disabling the wifi security on the router? Do you have the wifi settings of both routers to compare? Also Run an ipconfig /all from the office and home so we can compare.

    It looks like you have Kaspersky AV installed as well. I would recommend uninstalling and only use Windows 10 Defender.
     
  10. Windhead

    Windhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Sure! I will check the latest drivers on the net & see that they are updated. I will also check for differences between Home & Office networks.

    Thanks, I think may be if I keep same settings on both, it may work. Let me get on it & update you soon.

    Thanks guys for your time & help, I really really appreciate it!
     
  11. Windhead

    Windhead Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Hello,

    So I compared the Home network & the Office network and there were a few differences. I ensured that the Office network is now setup just like my home network. Screenshots attached.

    But still same problem! One thing I noticed that the routers use different firmwares, so I guess I will update the office firmware to the version that the home router uses.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4,340
    First Name:
    Darrin
    Very strange. One thing I would change is the Band mode to G, N or N only if your wifi card and all other devices supports 802.11N.

    I would recommend either switching routers if that is an option or purchase borrow a router to test at home. Can you provide a ipconfig /all from work and home for comparison.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1203134

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice