Will Adobe Premiere 5.1 work with Dell Precision 380 Workstation?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

HollyG

I've been doing a lot of research on this and so far configured this system to run Adobe Premiere with. I'm pretty new to all this so I may be missing some important components.

Dell Precision 380 Workstation (this system is recommended by Dell for use with Adobe)
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 531, 3.00GHz, 1MB L2, 800MHz Microsoft Windows XP Professional, SP2 with media

NTFS File System

Hyper-threading feature preset to On can be disabled/enabled in BIOS

1GB, 533MHz, DDR2 SDRAM Memory, NECC, (2 DIMMS) (will probably increase it to 2 GB)

Desktop w/1394-Optical drives mounted horizontally in Desktop orientation (is mini-tower better?)

System comes with an Integrated Broadcom Gigabit Ethernet Controller (what is an Ethernet controller? does that have to do with networking another computer? I also want to keep my old system running with WINS 98 so I'll need to purchase a router that will work both with WINS 98 and WINS XP)

Broadcom NetXtreme 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet controller-PCI Express card (do I need this?)

C2 All SATA drives, RAID 0, 2 drive total configuration
All Systems include embedded SATA RAID capability. RAID 0 Raid 1 requires at least 2 drives
Boot drive: 80GB SATA, 7200 RPM Hard Drive with DataBurst Cache™

RAID Mixing of SATA/SCSI Hard Drives is allowed, but the 1st Hard drive or Boot Hard drive must be SATA When ordering RAID, all hard drives in the RAID must be exactly the same capacity, speed, and type

2nd Hard drive: 160GB SATA, 7200 RPM Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst Cache

CD-ROM, DVD, and Read-Write Devices