1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Will formating erase my hard drive?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by DaMick, Sep 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DaMick

    DaMick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    If I right click on the C drive and choose to format will it erase all of my data including the operating system? or will it wipe data blocks to free up space? I'm a little confused on the terminology. Thanks.
     
  2. jamesh2923

    jamesh2923

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    You will wipe everything off the HD - do you really know what that would mean, no operating system, no boot, no data, a blank HD.
     
  3. DaMick

    DaMick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you; you have answered my question.
     
  4. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    Just to clarify . . . format will erase the index linking to your data, but not completely erase the actual data. It will allow memory blocks to be overwritten, but does not clear the memory blocks.

    If you want to erase a hard drive, you will need to write zeroes to it, and restore it to factory condition.

    I am only providing the information because too many people think that simply formatting the drive will actually erase the data, but it would still be mostly recoverable, albeit through a tedious process.

    If you wish to simply clear up space, then see if your Operating system has a Disk Cleanup utility.

    you should also look at Dreamboat's Cleaning your PC tutorial
     
  5. a.l.e.x.

    a.l.e.x.

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    15

    how is this donethen? are yuo talking about DELETING the drive/partition (ie by choosing that option in the xp boot disk?)
     
  6. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    no, to write zeros to your drive, you would go to the hard drive manufacturers website (not the PC manufacturers) and find their utility, written specifically for their harddrives.

    For example, if you had an ATA Maxtor Hard drive, you would get the utility here
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/274517

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice