1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Will I have any issues with this in ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by playme123, Jul 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
  2. Old Bob

    Old Bob

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    491
    playme123,

    Does your present keyboard have a PS2 plug ?? [round, green plug]

    Plug the new keyboard in and then boot up Ubuntu. If Ubuntu does NOT find the keyboard as "new hardware" you may have to reinstall Ubuntu.
     
  3. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    You shouldn't have too much of an issue. I got a wireless keyboard after I built my machine, plugged in the receiver and have been going at it ever since.

    From what I've read, no one had had significant problems.

    The big thing is to check for the PS/2 port, though.
     
  4. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    Oops. Didn't see the post.
     
  5. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    my current keyboard works in the ubuntu tower and the xp tower. Its the ps2 pluggy thingy
     
  6. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    cheers thanks for that, made me laugh though got a message back from the bloke about the kyeboards working in linux he said that one wouldnt but another one would bloody 30quid dearer im not that much of a muppett:eek: :D
     
  7. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    I didn't read well on this one, either. :-(. lol.
     
  8. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
  9. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    Looks cool! I hate touchpads, though. :-(.
     
  10. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    some of the ones that had little joystick on them tended to break, im fine with touchpad as I use a laptop and it will probably be mainly me using it, it wont be a problem. Just pleased I have come across one that will definately work.
    They are also doing this pc with ubuntu preloaded on it its a bargain
    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/128595/rb/0
    I dont really need another pc at the moment otherwise would snap one up
     
  11. briealeida

    briealeida

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    650
    Wow! I wonder if they'll ship that to the States reasonably?

    How do you know it's Ubuntu? I just see Linux.
     
  12. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    I read the reviews on it and someone posted this pc in the ubuntu forums, its a shame that most of them that bought it wiped the ubuntu and put xp on it, dont know if they ship to states ill have a look and let you know
     
  13. playme123

    playme123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    right im still trying to get my tower wireless and have the following output which gives details of the card im trying to use

    lshw -C network
    WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
    *-network:0 DISABLED
    description: Wireless interface
    product: BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 1
    bus info: [email protected]:01.0
    logical name: eth1
    version: 02
    serial: 00:0c:6e:f9:9f:aa
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bcm43xx driverversion=2.6.20-16-generic latency=64 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11b/g
    resources: iomemory:fddfc000-fddfdfff irq:19
    *-network:1
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
    vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
    physical id: 5
    bus info: [email protected]:05.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 10
    serial: 00:14:85:79:92:cf
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 latency=64 maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes
    resources: ioport:dc00-dcff iomemory:fddff000-fddff0ff irq:21
    *-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    physical id: 1
    logical name: usb0
    serial: 02:90:d0:e3:2c:37
    capabilities: ethernet physical
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=usbnet driverversion=22-Aug-2005 firmware=CDC Ethernet Device ip=192.168.1.65 multicast=yes
    [email protected]:~$
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/594753

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice