Will I have any issues with this in ubuntu

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.
Joined
Dec 18, 2004
Messages
491
playme123,

Does your present keyboard have a PS2 plug ?? [round, green plug]

Plug the new keyboard in and then boot up Ubuntu. If Ubuntu does NOT find the keyboard as "new hardware" you may have to reinstall Ubuntu.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
650
You shouldn't have too much of an issue. I got a wireless keyboard after I built my machine, plugged in the receiver and have been going at it ever since.

From what I've read, no one had had significant problems.

The big thing is to check for the PS/2 port, though.
 

playme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
Old Bob said:
playme123,

Does your present keyboard have a PS2 plug ?? [round, green plug]

Plug the new keyboard in and then boot up Ubuntu. If Ubuntu does NOT find the keyboard as "new hardware" you may have to reinstall Ubuntu.
my current keyboard works in the ubuntu tower and the xp tower. Its the ps2 pluggy thingy
 

playme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
briealeida said:
You shouldn't have too much of an issue. I got a wireless keyboard after I built my machine, plugged in the receiver and have been going at it ever since.

From what I've read, no one had had significant problems.

The big thing is to check for the PS/2 port, though.
cheers thanks for that, made me laugh though got a message back from the bloke about the kyeboards working in linux he said that one wouldnt but another one would bloody 30quid dearer im not that much of a muppett:eek: :D
 

playme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
some of the ones that had little joystick on them tended to break, im fine with touchpad as I use a laptop and it will probably be mainly me using it, it wont be a problem. Just pleased I have come across one that will definately work.
They are also doing this pc with ubuntu preloaded on it its a bargain
http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/128595/rb/0
I dont really need another pc at the moment otherwise would snap one up
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
650
Wow! I wonder if they'll ship that to the States reasonably?

How do you know it's Ubuntu? I just see Linux.
 

playme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
I read the reviews on it and someone posted this pc in the ubuntu forums, its a shame that most of them that bought it wiped the ubuntu and put xp on it, dont know if they ship to states ill have a look and let you know
 

playme123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
297
right im still trying to get my tower wireless and have the following output which gives details of the card im trying to use

lshw -C network
WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
*-network:0 DISABLED
description: Wireless interface
product: BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 1
bus info: [email protected]:01.0
logical name: eth1
version: 02
serial: 00:0c:6e:f9:9f:aa
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bcm43xx driverversion=2.6.20-16-generic latency=64 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11b/g
resources: iomemory:fddfc000-fddfdfff irq:19
*-network:1
description: Ethernet interface
product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
physical id: 5
bus info: [email protected]:05.0
logical name: eth0
version: 10
serial: 00:14:85:79:92:cf
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 latency=64 maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 multicast=yes
resources: ioport:dc00-dcff iomemory:fddff000-fddff0ff irq:21
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 1
logical name: usb0
serial: 02:90:d0:e3:2c:37
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=usbnet driverversion=22-Aug-2005 firmware=CDC Ethernet Device ip=192.168.1.65 multicast=yes
[email protected]:~$
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top