will this build work?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

forte21xx

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
157
Well, I'm close to ordering the parts for my new computer / serious upgrade. I just want to run this by you all to verify that the parts are compatable, since this is the first time I'm doing this. I already have an AGP Geforce 5900 XT to use, and floppy and cd drive I'll swipe from my current system.

AMD Athlon 64 3700+ - $325
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103539

Motherboard - $109
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131510

2x 1GB (2 x 512 Mb) Ram - $160
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145440

Case - $70
http://www.crazypc.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=8112

550W Power Supply - $56
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817182010

160GB Hard drive - $80
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144203

120 mm Fan - $15
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811999122

Mouse - $32
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16826104161
 

pugmug

Banned
Joined
Jun 13, 2005
Messages
2,857
Wild case,high dollar for no psu in it but each to his own.Yes this stuff will work but I would go with better ram to add with that big time cpu.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I'd strongly recommend a better powersupply. Rosewill is Newegg's store brand and the quality is extremely important in a power supply. Consider an Antec, Enermax, or Fortron power supply.

Are you a gamer?
 

pugmug

Banned
Joined
Jun 13, 2005
Messages
2,857
If you are going to do it,do it all the way.PSU=http://www.pcpowercooling.com/home/
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
464
Triple6 said:
I'd strongly recommend a better powersupply. Rosewill is Newegg's store brand and the quality is extremely important in a power supply. Consider an Antec, Enermax, or Fortron power supply.

Are you a gamer?
I agree. Better PSU. It'll save you some headaches. Also, maybe check into some better RAM. If you are going to seriously upgrade, might as well do it right. Go with the Corsair XMS as opposed to their VS line.
 

pugmug

Banned
Joined
Jun 13, 2005
Messages
2,857
Tried just about every type ram there is at one time or another.Found OCZ,Mushkin and Geil to be about the best.I like OCZ Platinum the best for their timings on the ram and their warrenty.You get what you pay for in ram quality as most other things in life.If you plan to overclock this rig get pc3500 or pc3700 as your pc3200 will be maxed out to start with pretty much.Up to you what to spend on this rig.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Yes, thats a better powersupply.

Are you sure you want to spend that much money on a system and keep the 5900XT AGP card? Might be worth to sell it and get a PCI-Expess motherboard and something like a Geforce 6600GT or 6800.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2003
Messages
464
That is the exact same RAM that I have. Works great. For some reason though when I installed it, it set the timings to 2.5-3-3-8 but I dropped the TRAS to 6 at 200Mhz as advertised and I haven't had any problems.

Triple6 said:
Yes, thats a better powersupply.

Are you sure you want to spend that much money on a system and keep the 5900XT AGP card? Might be worth to sell it and get a PCI-Expess motherboard and something like a Geforce 6600GT or 6800.
I agree. If you are going to spend this much money on a new system, might as well spring for a PCI-E motherboard and new videocard.
 

forte21xx

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
157
I've been thinking about this myself. My video card is relativley new, since my old video card died on me 6 months ago or so. I'm hesitant to spend a lot more money on a top of the line video card since I wouldn't get that much boost in performance since my current card is still pretty recent. I wish there were motherboards that had both an AGP and PCI-E slot.

Here's some options:

1) stay with my current video card, and when in a few years it outlives its usefulness, buy a PCI-Express compatable motherboard and a new video card.

2) switch my motherboard to one with a PCI-Express slot, and buy a new video card.

3) hold off on ordering the computer for a while, switch the motherboard to one with a PCI-Express, and buy a midrange geforce 7 series when released.

I don't want to spend zillions of dollars, since I am on a limited budget, on the geforce 7800s. What I would want is a video card that is relativley inexpensive, but has greater performance than my Geforce 5900XT.

I was consitering buying a PCI-E Geforce 6600, but what I don't know is how it compares in performance to the 5900 XT. I've heard conflicting reports. Anyone have any benchmark information?
 

forte21xx

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
157
Well looks like you're right. I just remember some information (now I know to be false) that said that 5900s are as powerful as 6600s.

Anyway, here's a wild idea. What does everyone think about SLI? It seems that 6600s are compatable with SLI technology, so I could get an SLI compatable motherboard with 2 PCI-E slots instead and buy 2 Geforce 6600s. Is this a waste of money? Or a good idea?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The second link to Tom's Hardware has the benchmarks for the cards in single and SLI configuration.

You don't have to buy two cards right away, you can buy the second identical card later and enable SLI.

Is it worth it? Thats up to you as it'll cost you twice as much.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
3,765
The question shouldn't be "is it worth it?", it should be "Do I need it?" A 6600gt will run most anything right now on high settings.
 

forte21xx

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
157
I guess you're right, I could go with an SLI comptable motherboard now and buy one video card. But what I'm concerned about is if it will work with 2 different video cards: such as a 6600 and another one such as the 6800 or the midrange 7 series when they're released. Would it work with an ATI video card if it had SLI compatablility?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top