1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Will this cause a conflict/problem?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Py2008, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Py2008

    Py2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Hi all,

    I got a new harddrive the other day and I installed vista on it. Now I want to put my old drive in as a second drive. However, all my original files and the same OS is still on it. Will this cause any problems?

    I am thinking there may be a problem as windows might be confused as to which drive to boot from? They are both sata drives and both have vista home premium 64bit on them!!

    Thanks for your advice in advance!
     
  2. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Just set the proper drive as primary in bios boot order and you'll be fine. Windows won't be confused, as Windows doesn't choose from which drive your pc will boot.
     
  3. Py2008

    Py2008 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Oh right ok, that sounds straight foward enough, thanks a million!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/756260

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice