1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Will this RAM fit and work properly in my PC?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by armendvisoka, May 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. armendvisoka

    armendvisoka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    102
  2. bicycle bill

    bicycle bill Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,092
    I don't know but I do know that you can go to crucial.com and find out exactly what will
    work in your computer. They can scan your PC and tell you what you have and how much
    it will support.
     
  3. armendvisoka

    armendvisoka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Crucial is saying something about my PC only allowing matched RAM, what exactly does that mean?
     
  4. bicycle bill

    bicycle bill Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,092
    I'm not familiar with the term but you can look at this. Maybe your motherboard requires
    matched ram.

    Using matched sets of RAM is advisable for motherboards that use Dual
    Channel technology, as yours apparently does. Non-matched modules may work
    correctly, but it's less certain. For single channel systems it rarely
    matters at all.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    That is not correct. Here is the text from the crucial site
    It just means that if you want dual channel operation, you must install matched memory. There are old mb that must have memory installed in pairs or a dummy chip installed if installing just one chip. These use RDRAM or rambus memory. Yours is NOT one of those.
     
  6. armendvisoka

    armendvisoka Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    So since my PC uses dual channel technology would that mean that it would be better to get two 512 MB sticks of RAM rather than one 1 GB stick of RAM?
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,117
    If you want 1gig of ram, then install 2x512. If you want 2gig, then install 2x1gig chips.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/829716

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice