1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Will Vista support this system?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by fencingstar, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fencingstar

    fencingstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Can someone please tell me if vista will support this and if so what type of vista should i get. eg pro,basic,ultimate 32-bit or 64bit

    Motherboard - Asrock SKT-775 CONROE865PE S/L 1066FSB
    CPU - INTEL PENTIUM 4 PROCESSOR
    SPEC NUMBER - SL7PR
    CPU SPEED - 2.80GHZ
    BUS SPEED - 800 MHZ
    PACKAGE TYPE - LGA775
    GRAPHICS - nVIDEO GE-FORCE FX 5200 128MB/DDR
    MEMORY/RAM - 1GB

    Thanks alot.
    Matt
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  3. fencingstar

    fencingstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry I forget to mension the system which i hope to put vista on is in bits and the ram has not arrived yet so there is no way i can test it.
    Sorry i forget to mension it earlier

    Matthew
     
  4. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    It will run but a 256 MB graphics card and another gig of RAM would help a lot.
     
  5. fencingstar

    fencingstar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    My mobo can take up to 4gb of ram so i can upgrade. Pity about graphics :(
    Will 128 give me translusent windows so i can see background images?

    and what version of vista would you reccommend? basic, preium, ulitmate and is this system 32 bit or 64bit

    Please help
    Matt
     
  6. ferrija1

    ferrija1

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,954
    Your graphics card and current system specs will run Vista and all it's features, I was just saying with a 256 MB graphics card it would be a bit faster.

    For what version of Vista, it's really up to what you want. I would probably get Home Premium or Ultimate, I wouldn't get Basic.

    Windows Vista: Choose An Edition
     
  7. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Go with the 32 bit for the most compatibility.
     
  8. MMJ

    MMJ Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,625
  9. Courtneyc

    Courtneyc

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,936
    Be aware, that, like XP, Vista (32-bit) will not see all 4GB of RAM; it will see about 3 and a quarter.

    Courtney sends....
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540901

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice