1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 2 K external HDD trouble

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by simon mc, Jul 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. simon mc

simon mc Thread Starter

Hi all.

I'm a newbie to this forum, long time looker but now a member.

I have just bought an odsonic external HDD enclosure with a samsung 300 GB HDD inside.

I have run it on my laptop (win XP home) & formatted it too, and had no problems

BUT on my desktop (cel 2.4 256K Win 2 K I cannot get windows to install a driver.

I have downloaded a driver from the ODSONIC site, pointed to it in the add hardware wizard, copied it to Windows.inf and pointed to it, all to no avail.

I have searched the existing threads, but found nothing to help.

Any suggestions

2. Jimmy the Hand

Jimmy the Hand

I'm not sure, but isn't it about disk size? I know, Win XP became able to handle partitions bigger than ~130 GB only after installing Service Pack 1. Is that implemented in Win 2k at all?
    I suggest you to try the same enclosure with a smaller HDD, like 20 GB, if you have one.

3. DaveBurnett

DaveBurnett Account Closed

2K needs to be service pack 4 and you should not need any drivers.

4. simon mc

simon mc Thread Starter

Thanks so far !

Malacka, sorry I don't have another HDD to try.

Dave, I am running SP 4,

I should also say I have had issues with some USB thumb drives previously too ????

5. DaveBurnett

DaveBurnett Account Closed

Have you looked in Admin tools/Computer Management/disk management to see if it is in there??
    If it is, assign a drive letter to it.

6. Jimmy the Hand

Jimmy the Hand