1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 2000 Net Work question/problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bassetman, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bassetman

bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

Hi

I am updating a Web Site for someone, and they asked me about this situation. I have limited Net Work knowledge and none with Win 2000.

Could some of you please offer advice on this?

Thanks

We are using Windows 2000 on our 6 computers (we will be adding another shortly) and are currently set up with a server (accually a Dell windows "Home" is our server) and have been having a lot of problems with our computers locking up and even losing some information. Plus we have a seperate email server - no one really knows what that consists of - it was built by a friend of ****'s. We have occasionally had problems with emails taking days to get to their address (even internally).

Our question is: Do we really even need a server or can we just network all the computers together? We don't have a backup system except for our billing; we use a zip disk. We should probably have everything backed up. Can we do that without a server? We have priced two new servers with a cost of about $5,000 plus installation.

Let me know if you need any more information. Thank you so much for helping us with this.

2. blin

blin

since you have over 5 users and email syste, it is better to have a server.

3. Bob Cerelli

Bob Cerelli

bassetman,