Win 2k Not Recognizing Epson Perfection 1250 Scanner

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
Hello,

Epson Perfection 1250 Scanner

My scanner is turned on (the green light is lit), the two cables are plugged in to the back of it, but my Windows 2000 operating system isn't finding the scanner when I run the add hardware function.

I have downloaded drivers and software for it and loaded these.

The scanner is not listed under Device Manager. The only imaging device it wants to know is my Logitech Web-cam.

I was told to look under "other hardware" in Device Manager, but that's not listed there.

I would be grateful for any ideas you might have.

Thank you,

Penny. :)
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy Tuppence2...

Are trying to setit up through Add New Hardware, or from Scanners and Cameras in Control panel ?
 

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
Hello Jedi Master,

I've tried both, with no luck. I started with Add New Hardware, and then tried adding it through the Control Panel.

The annoying thing is that it worked before we did a re-load because of a virus infection. No sign of the virus now, all clear on scans and no problems other than this one.

Thanks very much for your interest.

Bye,
Penny. :)
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4,022
It's a USB scanner so I'm wondering when you say;
the two cables are plugged in to the back of it
what exactly do you mean?

Have you tried disconnecting the cable(s) and rebooting, then when you are at the desktop and all is quiet, plugging the scanner in?
 

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
Hello griffinspc,

There are three sockets on the scanner, two of which have cables in them. See photo.

I haven't tried what you say and will do that.

Thanks very much. :)

Bye,
Penny.
 

Attachments

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
:D Hello,

I've got a techie friend coming round today and she'll take a look at the scanner. May be able to sort something then. I'll let you know.

Bye,
Penny.
 

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
Hello folks,

Very embarrassed to say that the scanner wasn't plugged into the computer.........no wonder it wasn't being recognized. A very basic thing I ought to have checked first. :(

Thanks for your input everyone.

Bye,
Penny
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2001
Messages
4,022
Penny, you ought to be proud of yourself for having the courage to admit it. You have no idea how many posters we've all suspected of mistakes just like that and they just fade away without ever letting us know or I know I've seen cases where they all of a sudden "find" the problem and you just know that couldn't have really caused it.

Hooray for you !!!
 

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
:) :D

Hello GS,

Thanks for your kind remarks - makes me feel not such a "silly billy".

Pleased the problem's sorted and I can scan again, especially as the printer is pouring out garbled symbols and being naughty. Think I'll leave that one for a while!


Bye,
Penny.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Hey that's good that's it's working now...

Don't feel bad, been there done that, got the scares to prove it...

On a side note...

Had a cousin that moved, and all the furniture was set in place...

But... the TV didn't work ( he didn't call me to see what was the problem )...

He called the local TV repairman, the repairman got to his house looked at the TV, plugged the TV into the wall outlet, and charged my cousin $45.00 for a service call that fixed his TV ( my cousin was Pi$$ed )...

Tuppence2...

I hope your tech friend didn't charge you...
 

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
Hello J-M,

Thanks for the advice about the printer. I will try that.

Your poor cousin! No, I wasn't charged, thank goodness. Not a very nice repair man to do make him pay. I've had things like that happen before, nothing wrong when the repair man called, and not been charged. Some people are very grasping.

Bye,
Penny. :)
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Penny...

Did you ever get anywhere with this ?

Your poor cousin! No, I wasn't charged, thank goodness. Not a very nice repair man to do make him pay. I've had things like that happen before, nothing wrong when the repair man called, and not been charged. Some people are very grasping.
Thats good you weren't charged...

On My cousin, the phone book said pretty much " You will be charged a service call, if we go to your house " he didn't see that part, but he was still pi$$ed...
 

Tuppence2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
6,563
Hello JM,

Not had a chance to get round to sorting the printer. I will try, probably over the weekend, and let you know what happend.

Thanks for your interest.

Bye,
Penny. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top