1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 7 clean install

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jansenc, Apr 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jansenc

    jansenc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    My HP came with Win 7 64 and includes all of the junk that HP includes on the partition. I am thinking that my computer would run better and I would not have to put up with all of the ad's and games that they include.
    Now the question:) If I decide to do this can I get away with buying a Win 7 upgrade disk or do I need to get the full Win 7 disk? Will the new disk I get have the option of 32 and 64 bit (I have 8 gigs of ram)? I also would like some input on if this is a good plan or am I wasting my time. Thanks, Chuck
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    It's a waste of money. Use a program like PCDecrapifier to remove unwanted software.
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    I agree with DoubleHelix. Just find some GOOD software to clean out your computer with, and you should be good to go.
     
  4. jansenc

    jansenc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the information. I will try that. Chuck
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,383
    First Name:
    David
    Or you could just go in and uninstall what you don't want.
     
  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,003
    First Name:
    Jay
    After you get a cleaned up HP system ..
    Make an Image Backup so you don't have to do this again ... I use Acronis and an external HDD.

    Make sure you have made your HP recovery DVDs before you perform any surgery.
     
  7. jansenc

    jansenc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Thanks for the reply's I did go into control panel-uninstall and deleted all of the stuff I could find but some still come up like Norton and MS messenger. I may have gotten them with Revo.(y)Thanks, Chuck
     
  8. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,383
    First Name:
    David
    You did not uninstall all of Norton, look for Symantec entries.

    Messenger, open it, and change the option not startup.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915217

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice