Win 7 not recognising antivirus

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dm0000

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
34
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version:
Processor:
Processor Count:
RAM:
Graphics Card:
Hard Drives:
Motherboard:
Antivirus: None

I'm running Windows 7 Professional 32 bit.

The Windows action centre reports that no antivirus program is installed. However, ESET Smart Security 8 reports that it is active and functioning normally.

System Restore indicates that it is switched on, but no restore points are being created.

Running sfc /scannow more than once produces a CBS.log file that indicates some problems could not be fixed.

I used the Windows installer disk to try and repair the installation, but the startup repair program says that no problems were detected.

The TSG SysInfo tool and Windows System Information utility display no information because "Cannot access the Windows Management Instrumentation software. Windows Management files may be moved or missing"

Microsoft's WMI Diag tool reports errors that it cannot fix.

Log attached - would like to be able to solve this without a reinstall.

Thanks
 

Attachments

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,612
This OS is windows 7 professional 32 bit and you post that

System Restore indicates that it is switched on, but no restore points are being created
On a previous topic of yours in February 2014
http://forums.techguy.org/windows-7/1119637-system-restore-not-working.html

you had the same problem but with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

It seems strange to me that both OS should have the same problem and both were using ESET

On that earlier topic a colleague suggested
See if this post helps you:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/asiasupp...oints-are-missing-after-windows-7-reboot.aspx

did you check please the suggestions in that link and the sub link

The computer the subject of this post - for which you cannot run the TSG sys info - IS IT please the same computer as was previously running the other version of Windows 7.
 

dm0000

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
34
Thanks for your reply.

No, this is a different computer to the one in the other thread. This is Win 7 Professional 32 bit.

I looked at that article again and it seemed that perhaps I had insufficient system retsore space allocated - only about 1%.

I altered the settings to allow for 55Gb (10% of free space), but got an error when trying to create the restore point (see attachment). The error occurred each time I tried it.
 

Attachments

dm0000

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
34
For the windows security center issue, you can try this. It's directly from ESET's knowledgebase.

http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1425614922724
That didn't work - I got the following responses

C:\Users\PC>NET STOP WINMGMT /Y
The Windows Management Instrumentation service is stopping.
The Windows Management Instrumentation service could not be stopped.


C:\Users\PC>REN %WINDIR%\SYSTEM32\WBEM\REPOSITORY REP.OLD
Access is denied.

I was running from a command prompt with administrator privileges
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
31
I would recommend to uninstall and reinstall ESET. Attempt a normal uninstall of the program from "programs and features". Next, download this uninstall tool from ESET. Save this to your desktop.

http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

Boot into safe mode with networking. Run the ESETuninstaller.exe. Run the tool twice to ensure that the program files were removed.

Reboot back into normal mode and then attempt a new installation of ESET Smart Security. The program should appear correctly registered in Windows Security Center.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,612
I am offline now for some three weeks
I would recommend if the above does not work - which looking at the log from the Windows Repair I have a doubt it will - a chdksk /r


I would then check for bad sectors on the event log
expand windows logs click application log
when that loads
click find on right pane and type
wininit
click find next
when it then finds the chkdsk you can examine the log for bad sectors


Has this system restore ever worked on this computer since the installation of windows 7 professional


If not was this the original installed OS or has it been installed and if so was it from a genuine Microsoft installation DVD or is it by any chance from a copied DVD
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top