1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 7 not recognising antivirus

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by dm0000, Mar 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dm0000

    dm0000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version:
    Processor:
    Processor Count:
    RAM:
    Graphics Card:
    Hard Drives:
    Motherboard:
    Antivirus: None

    I'm running Windows 7 Professional 32 bit.

    The Windows action centre reports that no antivirus program is installed. However, ESET Smart Security 8 reports that it is active and functioning normally.

    System Restore indicates that it is switched on, but no restore points are being created.

    Running sfc /scannow more than once produces a CBS.log file that indicates some problems could not be fixed.

    I used the Windows installer disk to try and repair the installation, but the startup repair program says that no problems were detected.

    The TSG SysInfo tool and Windows System Information utility display no information because "Cannot access the Windows Management Instrumentation software. Windows Management files may be moved or missing"

    Microsoft's WMI Diag tool reports errors that it cannot fix.

    Log attached - would like to be able to solve this without a reinstall.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,285
    This OS is windows 7 professional 32 bit and you post that

    On a previous topic of yours in February 2014
    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-7/1119637-system-restore-not-working.html

    you had the same problem but with Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

    It seems strange to me that both OS should have the same problem and both were using ESET

    On that earlier topic a colleague suggested
    See if this post helps you:

    http://blogs.technet.com/b/asiasupp...oints-are-missing-after-windows-7-reboot.aspx

    did you check please the suggestions in that link and the sub link

    The computer the subject of this post - for which you cannot run the TSG sys info - IS IT please the same computer as was previously running the other version of Windows 7.
     
  3. dm0000

    dm0000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks for your reply.

    No, this is a different computer to the one in the other thread. This is Win 7 Professional 32 bit.

    I looked at that article again and it seemed that perhaps I had insufficient system retsore space allocated - only about 1%.

    I altered the settings to allow for 55Gb (10% of free space), but got an error when trying to create the restore point (see attachment). The error occurred each time I tried it.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,285
  5. dm0000

    dm0000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    34

    Attached Files:

  6. Turn2

    Turn2

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    31
  7. dm0000

    dm0000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    That didn't work - I got the following responses

    C:\Users\PC>NET STOP WINMGMT /Y
    The Windows Management Instrumentation service is stopping.
    The Windows Management Instrumentation service could not be stopped.


    C:\Users\PC>REN %WINDIR%\SYSTEM32\WBEM\REPOSITORY REP.OLD
    Access is denied.

    I was running from a command prompt with administrator privileges
     
  8. Turn2

    Turn2

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    I would recommend to uninstall and reinstall ESET. Attempt a normal uninstall of the program from "programs and features". Next, download this uninstall tool from ESET. Save this to your desktop.

    http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2289

    Boot into safe mode with networking. Run the ESETuninstaller.exe. Run the tool twice to ensure that the program files were removed.

    Reboot back into normal mode and then attempt a new installation of ESET Smart Security. The program should appear correctly registered in Windows Security Center.
     
  9. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,285
    I am offline now for some three weeks
    I would recommend if the above does not work - which looking at the log from the Windows Repair I have a doubt it will - a chdksk /r


    I would then check for bad sectors on the event log
    expand windows logs click application log
    when that loads
    click find on right pane and type
    wininit
    click find next
    when it then finds the chkdsk you can examine the log for bad sectors


    Has this system restore ever worked on this computer since the installation of windows 7 professional


    If not was this the original installed OS or has it been installed and if so was it from a genuine Microsoft installation DVD or is it by any chance from a copied DVD
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144219

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice