win 95 reboot

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

robertsbunch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
55
i have a lap top i need to reboot it. it only has a foppy / a . where do i find one ? how much does one cost??? what if any other options do i have?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
607
First Name
Steve
Hmm... You have a laptop that doesn't have a Hard drive? Please let us know more. Did the HD Crash? Did you loose the W-95 files on the HD?

Steve-x8086
 

robertsbunch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
55
it is an old lap top -zenith- i only used it to play the games on 95 and save on the floppy disk a- i bought a pcm card to be able to hook it up to the internet. now my floppy is unacessable. i think it has a conflict with the two???? i took the card out and it asks for a reboot....
 
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
607
First Name
Steve
Make sure that you didn't accidentally disconnect an important wire. To reboot, usually you can Cnt-Alt-Del. Sounds like the Bat file may have been changed. Did you run an installation program for the pcm card? Did you try and "Uninstall" the pcm driver? Sounds like the Com ports may have been changed inadvertantly.

Hope these suggestions will lead you the right way.

Steve-x8086
 

robertsbunch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
55
my husband took the lap top to work to have a guy look at it...he said he thinks the ram went out...what does that mean in really stupid terms....why would it work okay until i tried to hook up that card and them immediatly have this problem.....i am sure he tried the cntl/alt/delete.....
 
Joined
Apr 19, 1999
Messages
607
First Name
Steve
RAM means Random Access Memory. It is the memory on computer chips that can be added or replaced. It is a necessary thing to run computers. When you are using a program, it usually used this memory to run and then saves changed files to the hard drive. Computer 101

Steve-x8086
 

robertsbunch

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
55
so how much $ to replace the ram? when replaced will i be able to use the card i bought for hooking into the internet? if i buy a ram replacement how will i reboot 95 in it? i have a disk but my lap only (or use to ) reads floppy in drive a....how do you do that----i hate to spend money on something that i can't use afterwards......
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top