Win 98 Boot problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cjscutemom

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
3
I am trying to fix neighbours computer which is running win98. After puter boots , error message appears stating explorer has generated errors. Close the error box and the only thing showing is the cloud screen of windows. No desktop items or start menu. I have tried booting in safe mode with the same results. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Hi and welcome. Did this just happen?

If so, try booting to a command prompt only.

Type scanreg/restore
and press enter

Is there a date prior to the problem but NOT THE VERY OLDEST?
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Start the computer and tap on F8 during startup to enter the Startup Menu. Select Command prompt. At the prompt type the following and press enter:

Scanreg /Restore

select the earliest date listed. Press Enter and Restart the computer. If the issue persist you will need to reinstall the Operating System.

To reinstall the OS, you will ned to locate the installation files in the computer or must have the Windows 98 Installation CD. You will also need the Certificate of Authenticity (COA) as windows wont reinstall without it.

To check if the installation files are in the computer, type the following in MSDOS (C:\) prompt:

Dir precopy*.* /s

Press Enter. Let me know whats on displayed for further action. Also let me know if the COA is available.
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Hey, AC. You beat me for 7 minutes. I must improve my typing!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Lol, I give lessons ;)

BTW, I've seen the very oldest restore point fail more often than not.
 

cjscutemom

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
3
I ran the scanreg/restore and none of the previous restore points worked...cant get the startdisk to run either...hates fixing puters...when i try to run bootdisk it wants me to input command interpreter????have no idea what they want...
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2003
Messages
1,649
If you're unable to restore the computer to a working state using the Scanreg /Restore command and can't boot into Safe Mode you'll probably need to reinstall Windows 98. Do you have the CD with the Product key?
 

cjscutemom

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
3
thanks for your help but I told neighbours to take to puter store and let them figure it out. Before this problem they had a virus etc..just a very problematic machine...first puter I couldnt fix...I design websites for a living so it really ticks me off when they get the better of me...dam Bill...you can check out my site at www.dfw.ca and if your a hockey fan check out www.senssuck.ca. Big Leaf fan here.take care and again thanks!
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Just a note, if the boot disk wanted a command interpreter, you didn't have a good boot disk.
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
cjscutemom said:
thanks for your help but I told neighbours to take to puter store and let them figure it out. Before this problem they had a virus etc..just a very problematic machine...first puter I couldnt fix...I design websites for a living so it really ticks me off when they get the better of me...dam Bill...you can check out my site at www.dfw.ca and if your a hockey fan check out www.senssuck.ca. Big Leaf fan here.take care and again thanks!
Nobody is perfect. Being in the bussiness for 20 years, I still have to recurr to other people also. By reformatting and reinstalling the OS the issue would have been solved, or throughout a Recovery process. I am sure that is what will be done in the store.

If you wont continue dealing with this issue, I suggest you use the Thread's Tools and mark this thread as "Solved".

Best wishes!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top