1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 98 Boot problems

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by cjscutemom, Feb 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cjscutemom

    cjscutemom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I am trying to fix neighbours computer which is running win98. After puter boots , error message appears stating explorer has generated errors. Close the error box and the only thing showing is the cloud screen of windows. No desktop items or start menu. I have tried booting in safe mode with the same results. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Dark Mage

    Dark Mage

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Tried a boot disk yet? That might be my suggestion.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Hi and welcome. Did this just happen?

    If so, try booting to a command prompt only.

    Type scanreg/restore
    and press enter

    Is there a date prior to the problem but NOT THE VERY OLDEST?
     
  4. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Start the computer and tap on F8 during startup to enter the Startup Menu. Select Command prompt. At the prompt type the following and press enter:

    Scanreg /Restore

    select the earliest date listed. Press Enter and Restart the computer. If the issue persist you will need to reinstall the Operating System.

    To reinstall the OS, you will ned to locate the installation files in the computer or must have the Windows 98 Installation CD. You will also need the Certificate of Authenticity (COA) as windows wont reinstall without it.

    To check if the installation files are in the computer, type the following in MSDOS (C:\) prompt:

    Dir precopy*.* /s

    Press Enter. Let me know whats on displayed for further action. Also let me know if the COA is available.
     
  5. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Hey, AC. You beat me for 7 minutes. I must improve my typing!
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Lol, I give lessons ;)

    BTW, I've seen the very oldest restore point fail more often than not.
     
  7. cjscutemom

    cjscutemom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    I ran the scanreg/restore and none of the previous restore points worked...cant get the startdisk to run either...hates fixing puters...when i try to run bootdisk it wants me to input command interpreter????have no idea what they want...
     
  8. dr20

    dr20

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,649
    If you're unable to restore the computer to a working state using the Scanreg /Restore command and can't boot into Safe Mode you'll probably need to reinstall Windows 98. Do you have the CD with the Product key?
     
  9. cjscutemom

    cjscutemom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    thanks for your help but I told neighbours to take to puter store and let them figure it out. Before this problem they had a virus etc..just a very problematic machine...first puter I couldnt fix...I design websites for a living so it really ticks me off when they get the better of me...dam Bill...you can check out my site at www.dfw.ca and if your a hockey fan check out www.senssuck.ca. Big Leaf fan here.take care and again thanks!
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Just a note, if the boot disk wanted a command interpreter, you didn't have a good boot disk.
     
  11. JSntgRvr

    JSntgRvr Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    18,552
    First Name:
    José
    Nobody is perfect. Being in the bussiness for 20 years, I still have to recurr to other people also. By reformatting and reinstalling the OS the issue would have been solved, or throughout a Recovery process. I am sure that is what will be done in the store.

    If you wont continue dealing with this issue, I suggest you use the Thread's Tools and mark this thread as "Solved".

    Best wishes!
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328164

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice