Win 98 SE, BIG BAD PROBLEM ! HELP !

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Well, it all started in another post where i found out that I had 2 trojans. I dont have a Virus-Scaning program so i was refered to a freeware one. AVG 6.0 Anti-Virus System is the name of the freeware program. I downloaded it and restarted my computer. When the computer begins to boot up, it starts the "AVG Boot-Up Scan" and reports this.


"AVG Boot-Up Scanner has detected a Virus: C:\Explorer.exe Trojan horse BackDoor. Subseven

We recommend you restart your computer using an operating system from a virus-free system diskette or CD-ROM, then use the AVG rescue Disk and remove the virus by healing.

Please select one of the following options:

(R)eboot and Restart System from Virsus-Free Diskette
(C)ontinue at your own risk"


I dont have a Virus-Free Diskette because it is freeware and it dont come with a diskette when you download it =)

I choose continue at your own risk andit starts to boot up again. It acts like it is going to boot and then the monitor shuts off like it is in sleep mode. Then I press the space bar and it it comes up with an error box saying:

"Error loading Explorer.exe C:\Windows\system\aaqhpy.exe

You must reinstall windows"

I press OK, and it freezes. Then I press Ctrl+Alt+Del and it comes up with the task manager and it shows me the programs that are running. it shows:

"Msqsrv32[Not Responding]
Mmtask"

I end task to Msqsrv32 because it is not responding and it closes it but the computer sits there with the background up and the mouse shows up but nothing happens. When I end task to Mmtask the computer shuts down.

It does this everytime I try to boot up and it wont enter windows.
I tryed to start up in Safe mode but it still trys to boot up and just shows the background and the mouse.

I need help ! PLZ !
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
your best bet with as much wrong as you have is to restore, if you have a restore disk...

or reformat and start over

after having at least three virii running in your system, for who knows how long - the problems may never stop.

If there's anything on there you have to retrieve...find someone with an anti-virus package installed....make and try their floppy rescue set

......good luck
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Go to http://www.housecall.trendmicro.com and scan for virus. If you're running WinMe you might need to disable system Restore first.

You werre supposed to create the AVG Rescue disk set after installing AVG. Using the twoi floppy set is what the AVG program was telling you to do.
 

Attachments

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
Go to http://www.housecall.trendmicro.com and scan for virus. If you're running WinMe you might need to disable system Restore first.

You werre supposed to create the AVG Rescue disk set after installing AVG. Using the twoi floppy set is what the AVG program was telling you to do.
 

Attachments

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
A trojan isn't hard to remove. Once you disable it from starting up it's harmless.

Please don't do anything drastic.

Go to http://www.spywareinfo.com/downloads.php#startup , and download 'Startuplist'.

Unzip, doubleclick it, and it will generate a text file that will list all running processes, all applications that are loaded automatically when you start Windows, and more.

Go to Edit > select all, copy it and please post the contents here.


If you do have a trojan, it will become apparent, and it will be easy to remove.
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Im guessing yall are not understanding. My computer is unoperatable. I cant turn it on now. This is my second computer. I only have one monitor so i have to switch over every time i change computers. It sucks and its slow but I have to. Plz help me. I dont know what I should do.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
I understood completely
my opinion stands......

" If there's anything on there you have to retrieve...find someone with an anti-virus package installed....make and try their floppy rescue set"

you boot up with it-get it?
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2001
Messages
3,334
Can you create a boot disc from the pc you're on? Or download one from here:

http://bootdisk.com/original.htm

On the pc that you can use (and obviously can access the internet), why not download AVG on that pc and create the emergency AVG disc once you have AVG installed. Then boot the pc with the boot disc and then use the AVG disc.
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
floopy drive isnt working in this one for some reason. think I can try to replace it then try it but ive thought of that once. Ill replace floopy drive and let you know what happens.
 

Styxx

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2001
Messages
4,888
If you create a AVG escue Set on another computer you can only scan for virus, trojan or variant on a different computer than the computer the rescue set was created on. It will totally mess your MasterBoot Sector (MBR) on your HDD if you try to use the Repair function in that set on a diffeent computer. Beware. It could make your current Windows installation unusable!
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Well, I dont think anything is wrong with my floopy drive. I think it is some setting or something on my computer. Every time I insert a disk it tells me it is not formated and it asks me if I want to format it. I say of and It takes me to the format A:\ thing. Then I press start and it says I selected the wrong size or the disk is bad. It tells me that with every disk. Can anyone help me plz?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
that sounds like a dead floppy drive
check cables?
light flickers when you boot up.....doesn't stay on?

try it in other PC
(boot floppy disk)
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Ok, I figured out how to open AVG6 from dos and I got all the viruses removed. =) thanks for all the help.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
2
Doomsday123 said:
Ok, I figured out how to open AVG6 from dos and I got all the viruses removed. =) thanks for all the help.
Hello there,
You know what ? I have the same problem as you had when I downloaded the free AVG 6.0 anti virus programme in my computer. :(
Could you please tell me how to remove the trojan virus ? I mean how to reboot/ restart my PC using the operating system from virus-free diskette or CD-rom ? I don't even have those diskette or CD-rom....
How can I open my windows ? :confused:
You quoted that you open AVG6.0 from DOS and you removed all the viruses ? Can you help me how to do this ?
Please help me...Thanks in advance.
I look forward to hearing from you.Thanks :)

MFBJGV
 

Doomsday123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
505
Wow ! Talk about bringing up an old post lol. Ummm... I havent used AVG in like 2 years so i wouldnt know how to anymore. I am currently using PC-Chillin 2005 which is in beta and so far it is doing really great ! I recommend sigining up and downloading it because it is free. You will also get a free 1 year license to the 2005 PC-Chillin after the beta is over. You can sign up Here.

Just my 2 cents... Good Luck
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top