win 98 start up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
Okay I had alot of trouble with my puter earlier.. u can look under IE6 problems for it.. sorry dont know how to post links in here. Now when i start up my puter it stays on the win 98 start up screen for a long time . like almost a min.. any one have any ideas to speed this up?


sweet
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
thank you.. i didnt have much on the start up but did have some unneccesary things will see if that works if not will let u know back here

sweet
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
You're welcome. Here's something else:
If you don't have a tape drive you can rename these three files in
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IOSUBSYS

Drvwcdb.vxd Drvwppqt.vxd Drvwq117.vxd

Rename them as
Drvwq117.old Drvwppqt.old Drvwcdb.old

At boot, these can cause quite a delay. If you have a problem, name them back.
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
what is a tape drive? anyways i went to c:\windows\system\iosubsys and none of those files were there.. and my puter is still taking forever to get off of the windows start up page.. it does a extra beep too i realized from what it use to do...


sweet
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
A Tape Drive is a storage drive. For instance an IOMEGA. They are still used, but CD rewriters are quickly taking their place. They are capable of zipping files as well.


You say you have an extra beep. Is this right at boot? Or after the windows Splash appears?

If it is right a boot, go here and Download BelArc Advisor. Run it and find out what your BIOS is.
http://www.belarc.com/Download.html

Post back with that information and the details of the beep. Short or long? When they occur? No error messages? and you do get into windows.

If this is happening at the windows splash screen:
Step two is to restart and Hold down the CTRL key to bring up the boot menu. Choose to make a bootlog.
Go here and Download Bootlog Analyzer:
http://www.vision4.dial.pipex.com/

Run it to analyze the log you made. When you run it, look at the top of the page to see two boxes marked, "show delays" & "Show failures"
Check those.

Run BLA.exe and please copy & Paste the text so we can see possibly where the holdup is.
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
here is what I got from the boot log

17:47:27 0.28 Loading Device = C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
17:47:28 0.78 LoadSuccess = C:\WINDOWS\IFSHLP.SYS
17:47:28 5.17 C:\PROGRA~1\CREATIVE\SBLIVE\DOSDRV\SBEINIT.COM[00119715] starting
17:47:34 0.00 LoadFailed = ndis2sup.vxd
17:47:36 0.28 Loading Vxd = vredir.vxd
17:47:41 0.67 Enumerating USB Root Hub (USB\ROOT_HUB\PCI&VEN_8086&DEV_7112&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_01&BUS_00&DEV_07&FUNC_02)
17:47:44 0.28 Dynamic load device pppmac.vxd
17:47:45 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHARE.vxd : [00119841] Device refused to load
17:47:45 0.06 Dynamic load failed ICSHARE.vxd : [00119847] Device refused to load
17:47:46 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHARE.vxd : [00119858] Device refused to load
17:47:47 0.00 DEVICEINITFAILED = ICSHAREP
17:47:47 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHARE.vxd : [0011985E] Device refused to load
17:47:47 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [00119862] Device refused to load
17:47:47 3.06 Starting IPX/SPX-compatible Protocol (NETWORK\NWLINK\0001)
17:47:50 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [0011989D] Device refused to load
17:47:50 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198A0] Device refused to load
17:47:50 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHARE.vxd : [001198A0] Device refused to load
17:47:50 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198A1] Device refused to load
17:47:50 0.06 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198A1] Device refused to load
17:47:51 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198A3] Device refused to load
17:47:51 0.61 Initing esdi_506.pdr
17:47:52 0.33 Initing esdi_506.pdr
17:47:52 0.44 Init Success esdi_506.pdr
17:47:53 0.06 INITCOMPLETEFAILED = SDVXD
17:47:53 0.06 Dynamic load failed ICSHARE.vxd : [001198CF] Device refused to load
17:47:53 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198D2] Device refused to load
17:47:53 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198D3] Device refused to load
17:47:53 0.00 Dynamic load failed ICSHAREP.vxd : [001198D3] Device refused to load
17:47:54 17.28 INITCOMPLETE = MCHEAT
17:48:13 16.00 InitDone = TSRQuery (time estimated)


sweet
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
sorry forgot to post what the beep was.. its uhmm how to describe kinda about this long i guess.. beeeeeeeeeeeep but say it slow.. .. lol does that help ?

sweet
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
It looks to be ICS Internet Connection sharing holding up production.
Are you using Internet Connection sharing?

My next questions would be how do you connect to the internet, are you on a network and what else is listed as loading from the Startup group in MSConfig?
and in Win.ini Load= Run=

also, Start>Programs>StartUp
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
okay i Have DSL so i guess i am on a network????? sorry not that good at knowing that stuff.. now .. in start/programs/startup it says empty......... now in msconfig i have Load Power Profile 2x, Scheduling Agent, Critical Update, gnetmouse, System Tray and Scan REgistry. that is all that is checked off .. Now as for the win.ini ..... Load = nothing after it .. same goes for Run= nothing after it either in the windows folder. ..


Does that help?


sweet
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
I have to hope someone else will come along or I will find some answers researching. I know nothing about DSL and ICS.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
The question is whether you are on a standalone computer or on a network. Your Bootlog is trying to load This Networking protocol: IPX/SPX-compatible Protocol (NETWORK\NWLINK\0001)
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
I have been reading and researching. You are in effect on a Network. You may need to call your ISP and ask. Some ADSL use ICS (Internet Connetction Sharing) Do you need to reconfigure? I am not sure. At any rate, the vxd's not loading are ICS.
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
okay thank you so much ... i will call the number tomorrow.. i will let u know what happens

sweet
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top