1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 98 Trouble

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by ryanjoachim, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    When the "Logging into Windows" screen first comes up on the monitor, it takes almost 5 minutes to load up to the login in screen. I have a 700 mhz processor, with 191 mb of ram, and Win ME runs perfectly with it, so I know it's not the computer.

    When I press escape during the beginning screen, I see the dos prompt and I see this:

    "C:/
    File not found
    File not found
    File not found
    File not found
    File not found
    "
    I have tried msconfig to only start certain programs, and I have also tried reinstalling windows, Nothing helped....any suggestions?
     
  2. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    The "not found" messages are coming from commands in the file c:\Autoexec.bat.
    If you wish, copy/paste it back here for review.

    Questions:
    1. Are there other people who log on to your PC with other USERids?

    2. At the point that you see "logging into Windows", is the BackGround/Wallpaper there?

    3. Has the Startup sound, sounded yet?
     
  3. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    No one else used my computer, and everything runs fine after the login screen comes up. The background/wallpaper is there.


    C:\>SET windir=C:\WINDOWS

    C:\>SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS

    C:\>SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM

    C:\>SET PROMPT=$p$g

    C:\>SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    C:\>SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    C:\>SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AUTODE~1

    C:\>SET CLASSPATH="C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTJava.zip"

    C:\>SET QTJAVA="C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTJava.zip"

    C:\>

    Here is what comes up when I double-click on autoexec.bat.
     
  4. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Hi,
    Don't double click on the file.
    Select it, right mouse, edit
    Then copy/paste the contents.

    Did this slowness just start?
    Do you have a network card installed? Or, a high speed DSL connection?

    Download and run HiJackThis, and copy/paste the log it creates back here.
     
  5. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    This has been going on for some time. I haven't installed anything new recently, hardware or otherwise. I will post the hijackthis and autoexec.bat log as soon as I can.
     
  6. Dingenium

    Dingenium

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Why don't you try just not loading the config.sys and autoexec.bat files during startup:

    MSCONFIG, Selective Startup, Uncheck Config.sys & Autoexec.bat

    WinME doesn't really need them in order to load...that is, WinME should run alright without them. So, try that out...if it boots faster, then problem solved.
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,940
    First Name:
    Frank
    Type in a semi-colon in front of each command so it looks like this:

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    ;C:\>SET windir=C:\WINDOWS

    ;C:\>SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS

    ;C:\>SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM

    ;C:\>SET PROMPT=$p$g

    ;C:\>SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    ;C:\>SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

    ;C:\>SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AUTODE~1

    ;C:\>SET CLASSPATH="C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTJava.zip"

    ;C:\>SET QTJAVA="C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTJava.zip"

    ;C:\>
    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    Once you finish, click File - Save - File - Exit, then reboot.

    The semi-colon prevents Windows from reading those commands during startup.

    Windows 98SE normally doesn't need anything listed in the AUTOEXEC.BAT and CONFIG.SYS files.
     
  8. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    Here is what I found when I went to the edit option from autoexec.bat



    @ECHO OFF
    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1


    \CPQS\TOOLS\DNY E:
    IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO SKIPE
    IF EXIST E:\MFG00.BAT CALL E:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST E:\MFG00.BAT DEL E:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST E:\CONFIG.BAT E:\CONFIG.BAT

    :SKIPE
    \CPQS\TOOLS\DNY D:
    IF ERRORLEVEL 1 GOTO SKIPED
    IF EXIST D:\MFG00.BAT CALL D:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST D:\MFG00.BAT DEL D:\MFG00.BAT
    IF EXIST D:\CONFIG.BAT D:\CONFIG.BAT

    :SKIPED
    \CPQS\TOOLS\CPQSLOG D:>>\CPQS\BACKWEB\USERPROF.DAT

    :XIT

    @REM Next 3 Lines are Only Required for 1 Boot but are OK to leave permanently
    @REM Next Line added by Compaq Service Connection Install - Please do not Remove
    @REM Next 3 Lines are Only Required for 1 Boot but are OK to leave permanently

    ECHO bw_workgroup=,"Service Connection">>%DSHD%\CPQS\BACKWEB\USERPROF.DAT

    IF EXIST \PIPOST.BAT CALL \PIPOST.BAT
    IF EXIST \PIPOST.BAT DEL \PIPOST.BAT

    \CPQS\TOOLS\MINIFER2.EXE CREV=,200 LANG=,"EN"

    IF EXIST D:\PATCHES\PATCHES.BAT CALL D:\PATCHES\PATCHES.BAT
    IF EXIST D:\SEHCTAP\NUL REN D:\SEHCTAP PATCHES
     
  9. ryanjoachim

    ryanjoachim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    437
    This autoexec.bat is on the slave drive right now, and that is why the "C:" that is normally there has been replaced with a "D:"

    :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220159

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice