1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win 98SE to Win 2K

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Wogus, Jan 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wogus

    Wogus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    132
    I'm currently running a (don't laugh) Compaq Presario 7462, 500Mhz with Windows 98SE. Hardware-wise, It's running factory stock, except for some additional memory and an additional 20Gig.

    I started to upgrade to Windows 2000, but I got a message during the install stating that many of the installed hardware components are not compatible with Win 2K. Almost all the major components made the list: video card, sound card, even my web cam! I aborted the install at this point.

    This dialog box mentioned that my drivers were either not up to date or were not compatible with W2K. I'm a little stumped by this because I do my best to make sure my drivers and such are up to date - I use the CNET Catch-Up program and I visit the Micro$oft download center on a regular basis for just that reason.

    I've also heard that "upgrading" W2K is not the best way to install... that doing a 'clean install' from the ground up is the way to go with W2k. Is this true? I've got my machine tweaked to the n'th degree... not to mention all the software. et al... You get the idea.

    Okay... so my questions are these:

    1. Is this upgrade even possible? As far as I can tell, my drivers are as up-to-date as they come.

    2. Is this upgrade going to be worth the time and trouble? I mean, yeah, my 'puter is a little shaky on 98SE, but it's not THAT bad. I've heard great things about 2K being "rock solid" though and I'd like to have that.

    3. Is a fresh install really the "only" way to go with 2K, versus upgrading from 98SE?

    As always your advice and input are deeply appreciated. I will be burning the usual offerings at my TSG Shrine, daily, if required.
     
  2. happykl0wn

    happykl0wn Guest

    you shouldna aborted, it said some **** liek that to me also...i just kept goin, i just updated the drivers later....its cuz windows 2000 is from NT 98 is from 95...everything is all diff....but of corse i could be completely off subject on account i didn read ur whole post... =o
     
  3. happykl0wn

    happykl0wn Guest

    u need drivers for win2k...i found it annoyin cuz even tho is says a few things wont work, in the end a shitlaod of **** dont work, i jsut formatted and installed 2000 clean...
     
  4. Wogus

    Wogus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    132
    Ummmmm... okay. Thanks for your input.
     
  5. Dan O

    Dan O

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 1999
    Messages:
    8,974
    1. Yes, but you need a few drivers and a SoftPak upgrade, here a link where to get them: http://web14.compaq.com/falco/sp_list.asp

    2. It depends on the applications you run. Some older applications will not run under Windows 2000, XP may be a better choice.

    3. Yes for Windows 2000, but with XP you could upgrade, which is the recommended method by Microsoft. Then you don't have to reinstall all your applications.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64855

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice