Win ME troubles ... wtf???

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

[UNIX]Petrov

Hi,I am new in windows :) :) :)
I am usually using slackware linux,but now i am runing windows me.My pc is : PII 400mhz,96mb ram,3x hdd (3;5 and 6 gb) 8 mb video.The windows is not working ok!
I am installed all device drivers,opera browser,winamp,dc++,emule and mirc.When I am downloading with dc++ the winamp stops sometimes for 2-3 secs;and if i open more than 5 explorer windows,operating with 'em is sooo slooowww :( :(
With win xp there are no troubles (xp is 2003,me is 2000)?!?!?!?!?
pls,tell me what i can to do to make it more faster :eek:

Windows ME has terrible memory management. 96mb ram is more than likely your problem. Running all that stuff at once, in ME, with 96mb ram, can easily cause you to lag like no tomorrow. I suggest either upgrading your RAM to 128 (256 is even better) and using XP.

Another thing to consider is you might be infected with some spyware (welcome to the world of microsoft windows). If you use file sharing programs such as DC++ and emule, I'm guessing that it's possible you might have visited some less than respectable websites and contracted some spyware as well. What version of Winamp are you using? If it's the newest version, make sure you use classic skin instead of the modern one (this will help loads, check the skins area in options to switch it I believe).

Linux has much lower system requirements than most Windows based operating systems. Quite honestly I'd just stay with Linux if I were you, unless you have compatibility issues and need to run a windows program that won't run in wine.