Win ME won't complete scan disk and start

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
I have an old computer Pent II and am running Wim Me. It had been working fine then went to what I refer to as a clouded or shaded screen. When rebooting the computer it posts fine then when setting up WinMe it starts to run scan disk because of improper shut down very shortly after starting scan disk it goes to the shaded screen not black and no picture.

Thanks
RLB
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Have you tried a different monitor?

Can you see enough on the screen to do anything? Have you tried Safe Mode?
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
Screen is nomal , full and sharp until it suddenly goes shaded oe clouded during scan disk. How do I get it to start in the safe mode?
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,078
Hi is it only during scan disk that the screen is cloudy?
Safe mode tap F 8 at startup.
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
Thanks to both your replys I've been away for the day so will try the safe mode boot.
1. Scan disk does not complete it starts and after a few sconds in scan disk the sreen goes cloudy I do not believe that scan disk continues after the screen clouds.
2. Me was installed with an OEM disk and I have an OEM disk would it be avisable to try to boot with the OEM disk?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Not sure what the point of booting with the OEM disk would be at this point. That may start a recovery process that erases everything, depending what kind of disk it is.

You can tell if scandisk continues running by the drive light. Does it appear that the drive continues to be checked?

let's see what the results of Safe Mode boot are. It could be that you just need to reinstall the graphics driver, especially if it appears that scandisk keeps running. That would imply a problem that involved just the video.
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
I got it to boot in the safe mode and scan disk started running and the same thing happehed the sdreen went shaded. The drive light keeps flickering and the dirve feels like it is running.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Try running the DOS scandisk. Press F8 on boot to get the menu, choose Command Prompt Only, and type:

scandisk <Enter>

No need to do the complete surface scan at the moment.

What are the results of that?
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
I pressed F-8 on boot and got the following window with no "Command Prompt Only" option
1. NORMAL
2. LOGGED (\BOOTLOG.TXT)
3. SAFE MODE
4. STEP-BY-STEP CONFIRMATIOM

I did finally got it to start up in the Safe Mode but while in Help and Support it went to the same screen condition as before I'm now guessing it must be a hardware problem rather than software any new ideas and thanks very much for your help
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You may well be right. Check to see if all your fans are running and there is no restriction to airflow. Check your connections to be sure everything is seated well. Unplug and replug your video card, if possible. Clean out dust.

If you have a hardware monitor in your BIOS setup, check temperatures immediately after trying to boot while the machine is still warm.

Use your ME boot floppy, boot from that, and run scandisk.
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
I've Changed monitor,video card, checked cooling fans etc. I checked time from turn on to the point of monitor going shaded. On first start up 2 min 10 sec then restart 1 min 55 sec. these were normal start ups on second restart I hit del and went into BIOS setup to check temp and left the computer in that mode for over 30 min and it did not go into the shaded monitor. While there I left the window with temps open and the max on system temp was 27C - 80F and the cpu was 36C- 96F so I'm now guessing it's not hardware. I will try to find my boot disk and run scandisk from it.

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2002
Messages
246
Have you tried stopping your firewall. I found that I cannot run scandisk with my firewall on (sygate)
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
I wasn't aware Win ME had a fire wall. This computer was not used online and has no anti-virus installed. I will check into it. Thanks
 

Camino3701

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Messages
77
I booted computer from boot disk and tried to run scandisk but it stopprd on "Allocation Table" with a window that says "Scandisk encountered a data error while reading the FAT on drive C" "This error prevents scandisk from fixing this drive" Do I have afatal situation??

Thanks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top