1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win XP Activation help!!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by AngierNC, Feb 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AngierNC

    AngierNC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    When I booted my PC this morning, I got a message saying that the hardware had changed and I had to reactivate Win XP. Well, the hardware hadn't changed, but I attempted to do the activation. The activation window opened, but the normal activation info did not appear. Instead, the hard drive is constantly busy and msoobe.exe is using about 30% of the CPU and this goes on forever. (Forever being at least 10 minutes in this case). I've tried it multiple times with the same result.

    Everything appears to be fine on the hard drive and all applications work properly. I've always accepted the installation of the latest XP maintenance and am at SP3 level. Any idea as to how to proceed? I have the 888-571-2048 activation number, but when you call that they assume you can get the activation window open and see the options available. Maybe if I had left the activation loop run for a few hours it might have eventually presented me with the proper screen?
     
  2. tre2k

    tre2k

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    It may be a virus. Your windows activation data is stored in your C:\WINDOWS\system32\wpa.dbl along with other stuff. That may have become corrupted, so I would suggest using a virus scanner first to assure that's not the case.
     
  3. AngierNC

    AngierNC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Ran Virus scan - clean. Tried the automatic procedure described in msoft KB312295 but that hung as well and now can't boot that drive at all. Unable to boot the drive in safe mode as the automated procedure apparently runs even then. Last chance is to try the manual procedure on the backup copy and if that fails, guess it's Vista time.
     
  4. tre2k

    tre2k

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    You can try a windows startup disk, or put in an XP CD and get to the Windows Recovery Console and use the command fixboot at the prompt to attempt to repair that.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/802365

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice