Win XP startup problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kuku56us

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
7
Hello everybody!

Here is my problem. I exchange the HDD from my older pc to newer one. The HDD has Windows XP installed in order to make the HDD with XP work on the new PC I had to reinstall the XP (right on the top of old XP). Now when I start/restart my PC, after XP (pro SP1) it loads fine, through the standard xp screen until the welcome screen appears. After that, my desktop pic shows, but it takes about 2 min for my actualy explorer to load. In this time, my PC seems to be doing nothing, no HDD activity, no removable storage searching, just sitting there.

If anybody has any ideas, pleas help!!!
 

kuku56us

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
7
I had to do that because when I pulled the HDD out of the older PC and put it into the new one it won't start because the different mobo and cpu and other different devices
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
Not sure what you are saying, but excahning a HD from one PC to another will result in many problems, especially if they are different makes/models.

Your best bet is to backup necessary data and rebuild on the PC you want to run on.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
MFDnSC said:
Not sure what you are saying, but excahning a HD from one PC to another will result in many problems, especially if they are different makes/models.

Your best bet is to backup necessary data and rebuild on the PC you want to run on.
Thats exactly what he has done, and its the correct thing to do. He reloaded XP on the new PC, so all drivers should now relate to the new PC.

Possibly the delay is that its got an active network card, and its looking for a network. Takes about 2 minutes to time out?
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
kiwiguy said:
Thats exactly what he has done, and its the correct thing to do. He reloaded XP on the new PC, so all drivers should now relate to the new PC.
Glad you could translate that.
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
49,014
OPK I see, bet it was not a clean install (re-install) which do not clear everything.

Install XP again, with a format.
 

kuku56us

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
7
Thank you. I have a network card installed and I tried to disable it, but it is the same result, even more if I start PC in the save mode the same story
 

kuku56us

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
7
I thought maybe there would be another way to fix the problem. I just have a lot of everything on that HD
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
kuku56us said:
I just have a lot of everything on that HD
Remember that HDD's fail with monotonous regularity. Anything stored on the drive should be considered temporary unless you have at backed up. So if it's important, back it up anyway. Then a reformat and reinstall is painless.

I have lost on average 1 per year, over all 4 PCs here. They are cheap now, but the quality is not great. Warranty period has usually been reduced to 1 year, unless you pay extra for 3 years. Thats a good indication of the intended lifespan.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top