1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

win xp

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by m00ch, Feb 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. m00ch

m00ch Thread Starter

I have been using this site for sometime and have always gotten great advice, I recently purchased a new pc and am having no real problems except this... I keep getting these pop up type boxes that are text only every few seconds they say messenger service at the top and are usually some type of advertisement I'm sure its some kind of ad ware I have ran AdAware6 multiple times but itsstill there . I have been using win 98 for the last 4 years so I'm having a little trouble finding things in the xp version to even get in there and try to find it myself, when I type in msconfig and go to the startup tab there is about 40 items in there and I don't know what is important and what isnt... can anyone help????

2. steamwiz

steamwiz

3. m00ch

m00ch Thread Starter

thx very much so far so good.....

4. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

FWIW, I don't recommend turning off messenger, since it has some legitimate functions. If you configure your firewall (you do have a firewall, right?) to block ports 135, 137-139, and 445, you'll block these popup ads.

What these ads are telling you is you don't have proper firewall protection, consider them a wake-up call! :rolleyes: You're treating the symptom, not the desease by turning off messenger.

5. m00ch

m00ch Thread Starter

I do not have a firewall installed guess I need to get one huh?
    thx for the input everyone

6. steamwiz

steamwiz

7. Dan O

Dan O

XP has a built-in firewall.

To enable or disable Internet Connection Firewall
    Open Network Connections: