1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win2000 fail install can't erase HD to install 98

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by Icantlogin, Apr 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Icantlogin

    Icantlogin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I attempted to install win 2000 so I could install
    win XP. The attempt failed and now I have a
    HD in NTFS format and a win 98 boot floppy.
    How do I kill the NTFS and reformat in FAT32
    so I can reinstall Win98 and work my way up to Win XP?

    Thanks
     
  2. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    What size hard drive is it?

    .
     
  3. Icantlogin

    Icantlogin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    it is only a 20 gig
    1G hz IBM vista
     
  4. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    You should be able to use a w98 startup disc to format it, use fdisk, it will complain that is is an unknown partition, just say yes to force a format.
     
  5. Icantlogin

    Icantlogin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I used format and it said it cannot format a network drive ????
    Mabye because it is in NTFS it thinks C drive is a network drive.

    I tried fdisk and it wont let me touch the partition
    ether create or delete.

    I even tried a floppy of "boot & nukem" which failed
    all attempts.
     
  6. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    No, I have used fdisk on a few ntfs partitions, not sure what your issue is.


    If you have a cd drive, make this boot CD, boot from it, see if it can erase the drive

    You don't need to let it run on the whole drive, just for a few minutes, then power down the PC.

    http://www.dban.org/download



    Otherwise see my attachment, unzip it and copy it to the win98 boot floppy, then run the clean1K utiltiy on that drive.




    .
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Mumbodog

    Mumbodog

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    7,889
    If all else fails, install it in another PC as secondary, and use disk management to delete the partition.

    .
     
  8. Icantlogin

    Icantlogin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Yes
    I tried to get a win 2K cd to boot from d:
    Then I ran the install.
    And I get to the same hang spot
    on the start up.
    I ten put in a xp disk and ran the
    install and formatted the drive as Fat
    and it installed (actually without a install code numbe)
    but when it tied to start I got to the XP screen the moving
    paten got one and a half rotations and hung up.

    So I suspect the drive. I will try a new drive to boot from tomorrow./
     
  9. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Why not do a clean install of XP instead of installing Windows 98, then 2000, and then XP?

    You boot from the XP upgrade install CD, delete existing partitions, create a partition and format it; and then during the Setup you will be prompted to insert your Windows 98 or 2000 CD (which has to be a non-upgrade version) to verify you are eligible to install the XP upgrade version. Then Setup continues.
     
  10. Icantlogin

    Icantlogin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I did not know you could do that. I guess I just have to have
    the CD bootable.

    I have determined that the IBM net-vista machine is at fault and
    not the hard drive. On either 98, 98 SE 2000 the machine freezes
    at the same point in the startup. I tried other drives and I get the
    same problem when it is booting. Since it seems to be a hardware
    issue I am at a loss, so the machine will have to go to the shelf.
    I pulled the RAM out and put it into a 890 MHZ IBM machine and
    I will start rebuilding from there.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Win2000 fail install
  1. kerawl
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    563
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/915612

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice