1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win2000/Hardware Startup Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GomerOfDoom, Apr 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GomerOfDoom

GomerOfDoom Thread Starter

Hello,

I'm not a newbie to computers... I'm generally comfortable formatting and reinstalling my OS, drivers, and other programs. I have built a couple computers and have fought my way through several problems. I certainly wouldn't call myself an expert, but I'm at least comfortable with computers.... However, this problem has me stumped.

Here's the deal:

System:
    Shuttle AN35N-Ultra Mobo
    AthlonXP 2500+ Barton
    512 PC2700 RAM
    geForce2 GTS AGP
    Windows 2000

When I first built the system (a month or two ago) I had the mouse and keyboard plugged into the PS/2 ports. Recently, I changed my keyboard and mouse from being plugged into the PS/2 ports to the USB ports. When I started up the computer, everything went normally... system posted fine, I got the black screen with the white meter that says "Starting Windows" (or something), but then, on the next screen (with Win2000 splash, scrolling blue bar, and blue meter), something weird happened. The blue scrolling blue bar would slow down to a crawl (it moves at like one pixel per second) and the blue meter would stop. I remedied the problem by returning the mouse and keyboard to the PS/2 ports. This is fine with me... don't really care if my mouse and keyboard are USB or not.