Win2000 Server clone

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

joseph_chen

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
I maintain a Win 2000 server which was set up by other 3 years ago. Now the free space in the primary partition is less than 100M. But the logic patition on the same drive has 3G more space. So I want to Merge the partition. I have Norton Partition Magic 8.0.

I want to back up my system in case something wrong happen after the merge.

I choose Norton Ghost 9.0 shows that it support Win 2000/XP. I check Norton website say Ghost can backup for Win 2000 server version.
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPOR...ew=docid&dtype=&prod=&ver=&osv=&osv_lvl=&seg=
However, when I run the Ghost 9.0, it say that the operation system is not supported!

My question:
1) how to solve the limit space in primary partiton?
2) Does Ghost 9.0 not work for server version at all? Shall I have to buy any other back up software? What software you recommend?

Thank you very much!
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2001
Messages
2,382
It is a very good idea to do the backup as you suggested. Importantly also it to run a scandisk on the drives (primary and extended) before performing ghosting or merging partitions.

Acronis is a very good program for backups, it blows the doors off any norton ghost program by far.
http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/download/ATISWin/
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
Have you tried to ghost to a larger hard drive like a 200GB drive? I have successfully ghosted 2000 systems and they all worked fine.

As per your link;

Backup
When cloning a server for backup purposes, the SID does not need to be changed and Ghost should be successful, provided the system's hardware is not changed after the backup has been made. If hardware was changed, the computer might not be able to boot up after restoring the backup

Migration
When cloning a server for migration purposes (to move the server installation to another hard drive or computer), the SID does not need to be changed and Ghost should be successful, provided the hardware is identical on the source and destination hard drives or computers.
 

joseph_chen

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Sequal7,

Thank you very much for the information. I will try the software you recommend!
 

joseph_chen

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Lance1,

I did not try ghost drive larger than 200G.
You mentioned you had ghosted 2000 systems, did you ghost 2000 server version with Norton ghost? if yes, which version?
Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
No not the server. But from what I’ve read you should not have a problem doing so. I use Ghost 2003.
 

joseph_chen

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Acrnois provide Image software for win 2000 server and win 2000 professional, server version cost about $660 and professional version cost about $60.

Although Ghost say it support server version, but when I try to install it, it can not support win 2000 server. I don't find norton have any other software other than ghost for image purpose.

Does backing up server and professional really make a difference? for my point of view, they are same, both are backing up a sequence of 10010101010, etc...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top