1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win2003 Server with Dual NIC

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lightning1, Sep 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lightning1

    lightning1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I have a Win 2003 Server machine with dual NIC's

    LAN 1 - dedicated for secured network access

    LAN 2 - used for monitoring SNMP across non-secured network

    Problem - LAN1 is online with no problems until I hook up the cabling for LAN2...At that point, LAN1 closes and I am seeing only LAN2 devices...

    I need to know how to configure LAN connections in order to allow both connections to work simultaneously...

    Currenlty both LAN's are configured to obtain IP automatically from the independant corporate networks

    thanks
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Both NIC's need static addresses and the option selected to route from one NIC to the other selected. Are you stating that each NIC is getting an IP address from one of two networks with different IP addresses?
     
  3. lightning1

    lightning1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    I am attempting to utilize 2 separate networks for monitoring purposes with this machine...

    each network is totally independant of the other and I need the ability to monitor both networks with this machine...

    I will set static IP's for each network on the 2 LAN interfaces and see if that helps....

    any other suggestions?????
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    If you are setting static IP addresses make sure they are excluded from the DHCP address pool on both networks or you may have problems down the road.
     
  5. lightning1

    lightning1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    cool....

    still having problems though..

    I can now see both discreet lans; however, when I am performing ICMP pings for monitoring of my network devices, it appears as though all pings are being routed to a single LAN connection...I can ping everything on that LAN but nothing on the other LAN.

    What is good is that I can connect from computers via VNC on both LAN's to this machine now....I couldn't do that before, so I am getting somewhere...

    To me, it seems as if I need some routing instructions on the computer to route certain data to either of the 2 LAN's

    I also separated the LAN connections to 2 separate LAN controllers (1 Intel and 1 Broadcom) to make things a little easier to deal with...
     
  6. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    You can add static routing to the server and it will do the routing for you. You need to use your NIC's on the server as gateway addresses from one network to the other. Look up "route add" for the proper syntax.
     
  7. lightning1

    lightning1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    you are da man....I will check into that now...thanks
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/275033

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice