win2k & upgrading to 32 bit color monitors

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sarahknz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2003
Messages
16
I'm guessing this has to do with video cards but I don't know how to upgrade or mess with them.

I have a relatively old win2k system with a newer monitor. My display settings only allow for 256 colors and 16bit. On my preferred screen resolution of 1024x... I can only get 256 colors.

How can I upgrade this so I can see properly?

Sarah

and just in case it helps :D

StartupList report, 12/05/2003, 14:15:27
StartupList version: 1.52
Started from : R:\Sarah\downloads\StartupList.EXE
Detected: Windows 2000 SP3 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Utilities\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\Program Files\Tiny Personal Firewall\persfw.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton Speed Disk\nopdb.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\WFXSVC.EXE
C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
C:\Program Files\Symantec\WinFax\WFXMOD32.EXE
C:\WINNT\System32\mspmspsv.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINNT\System32\wfxsnt40.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\Trillian\trillian.exe
C:\Program Files\JGsoft\EditPadLite\EditPad.exe
C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\WINWORD.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
S:\Sarah\PCPMDev\PCPM\pcpm206m.exe
C:\WINNT\system32\ntvdm.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\WINZIP\winzip32.exe
R:\Sarah\downloads\StartupList.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\Documents and Settings\Mmx-200\Start Menu\Programs\Startup]
Trillian.lnk = C:\Program Files\Trillian\trillian.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Checking Windows NT UserInit:

[HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon]
UserInit = C:\WINNT\system32\userinit.exe,

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Synchronization Manager = mobsync.exe /logon
WinFaxAppPortStarter = wfxsnt40.exe
LoadQM = loadqm.exe
ccApp = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
ccRegVfy = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"
QuickTime Task = "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
CreateCD = C:\PROGRA~1\Adaptec\EASYCD~1\CreateCD\createcd.exe -r

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINNT\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=*INI section not found*
SCRNSAVE.EXE=*INI section not found*
drivers=*INI section not found*

Shell & screensaver key from Registry:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINNT\System32\ssmarque.scr
drivers=*Registry value not found*

Policies Shell key:

HKCU\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry key not found*
HKLM\..\Policies: Shell=*Registry value not found*

--------------------------------------------------


Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - c:\winnt\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.70-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}
(no name) - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Symantec NetDetect.job
Normal.job
Monday.job
Tuesday.job
Wednesday.job
Thursday.job
Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\system32\Macromed\Director\SwDir.dll
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

[{6CB5E471-C305-11D3-99A8-000086395495}]
CODEBASE = http://toolbar.google.com/data/en/deleon/1.1.54-deleon/GoogleNav.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\System32\iuctl.dll
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37480.4578009259

[ScorchPlugin Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\Downloaded Program Files\NPSibelius.dll
CODEBASE = http://www.sibelius.com/download/software/win/ActiveXPlugin.cab

[Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\Downloaded Program Files\rufsi.dll
CODEBASE = http://security2.norton.com/SSC/SharedContent/sc/bin/cabsa.cab

[CV3 Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\System32\wuv3is.dll
CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R848/V31Controls/x86/nt5/en/actsetup.cab

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\System32\macromed\flash\Flash.ocx
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[AllControls.AllControl]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINNT\System32\AllControls.ocx
CODEBASE = http://www.tinysoftware.com/tiny2/files/activex/AllControls.CAB

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating ShellServiceObjectDelayLoad items:

Network.ConnectionTray: C:\WINNT\system32\NETSHELL.dll
WebCheck: C:\WINNT\System32\webcheck.dll
SysTray: stobject.dll

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 5,919 bytes
Report generated in 0.551 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/full - to include several rarely-important sections
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
It sounds like the video graphics chipset / video card / adapter is the limitation.

Its also quite possible you simply do not have the right drivers loaded for your graphics adapter.

You need to post the hardware details

Basically you need to find out if you have on-board graphics or a graphics card. I would guess at on-board (on the motherboard) graphics. Usually you can tell by looking at where the video (not the power) cable to the monitor plugs in at the back of the PC.

If its on the lower (or side if its a tower case) longwise plane its on the motherboard. (should then be close to and in a similar plane to the parallel printer socket)

If its at right angles to the longditudinal plane its on a separate card.

Either way, you could download and run Belarc advisor, or Aida32 and run it. Post the hardware details on your video setup back here.
 

sarahknz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2003
Messages
16
thanks kiwiguy!

here's what I found:

Display:
S3 Trio64V2 [Display adapter]
Default Monitor

the monitor appears to have it's own video card - goes into a port.

Current monitor is an "Auriga 17 TF" but it's likely to be just one of those generic, flood the market types we have down here :)

I've hacked about the report and put it up at just incase you need more: http://www.pcpropertymanager.com/phpusers/Belarc.htm
 

Triple6

Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,930
First Name
Rob
"S3 Trio64V2"

I doubt that video card can do much higher - its quite outdated.

maybve be time for a new one. Do you have an AGP slot?
 

sarahknz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 6, 2003
Messages
16
can't cost too much to upgrade. I'll ask my favourite store - Carlin in Auckland.

Do you have an AGP slot?
I hate it when people ask me questions I don't understand. Not because they've asked them, but because I find I'm not such a geek after all.

So... what's an AGP slot? I don't have USB, that I do know.

Sarah
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top