1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win7 doesn't boot up

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Bsmooth, Feb 10, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bsmooth

    Bsmooth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Had an issue with losing power , now Win7 doesn't boot up. I had made a win7 start CD earlier just in case so I can get into the repair startup, but didn't have any luck with that.
    The strange part is once in awhile it boots OK after several dozen tries, but in general it doesn't work very well.
    I got into the cursor prompt and ran bootrec.exe /fixmbr, and it completed but didn't seem to do anything.
    I'm thinking the startup partition is damaged somehow. I did try FixBoot, but I keep getting a message something is missing.
    If I even get the system up and running I would like to keep whats on there somehow.
    I was thinking of getting an SSD drive and putting Win7 on it, then would I be able to use all my programs on my original Win7 drive ?
     
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,154
    First Name:
    Liz
    1. Brand and exact model of computer (at this point we have no idea if you are using a laptop, desktop or netbook)
    2. What version of Windows 7? Is SP1 installed? 32 bit or 64 bit?

    Truthfully, forget about dealing with an ssd until you figure out what is wrong with the current setup. You need to fix that first before you make changes.
     
  3. Bsmooth

    Bsmooth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Homebuilt desktop running Win7 64 bit. Not sure If it has SP1 or not. As far as the SSD, I'm keeping that in the back of my mind just in case I can't fix the current problem I have with my drive.
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,610
    start > run > control > enter > click on system, the SP will be near the top center.
     
  5. Bsmooth

    Bsmooth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    That would be great advice, If the system booted.
     
  6. Bsmooth

    Bsmooth Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    I did create a system image on another internal drive I have in the PC.
    Should I just get a new HD and do a transfer somehow ?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1142820

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice