Win8.1 and Dlink WBR-1310 router don't communicate.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vmlathim

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
4
I just recently received a new laptop from my daughter, a Toshiba Satellite C50 running Windows 8.1. I have a Dlink WBR-1310 Wireless router. All of my other devices have no problem connecting to the router. The devices are; an XP PC, which I am using now, a Dell Venue 7, an Xbox, and several current Android phones.

The Toshiba sees the router, but when I enter the WEP it won't connect. And yes, the Dlink is supposedly compatible with Win8. I have tried a variety of things to get the two to talk to each other and so far nothing has worked. I'm seriously thinking I'm going to have to hardwire the laptop which means I'll be tripping over a cable!

What am I missing here? I really can't afford to go buy a new router at this time.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
2,607
Hi VMLathim, welcome to the TSG Forums...:D

Are you absolutely 100% sure that you are entering the correct Password for the Router..? Is there any possibility that you could have changed the Password at some time and forgotten that you changed it..? Have you physically checked the Password with one of your other devices..?

T.
 

vmlathim

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
4
Yes, I am very sure. In fact I changed the password to 64 bit, it was 128 bit. And then I went around to all my devices to update the new password. Everything works but the Toshiba.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
2,607
Have you checked the Firewall settings?

Is there any setting in your security setup that could be preventing the connection?

T.
 

vmlathim

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
4
I'll check it, the Firewall.

And since all of my other devices are working with not connectivity problem it isn't the security problem. The Toshiba "sees" the network.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,407
Does it connect OK with encryption disabled on the router? If so, with WPA-PSK encryption?
 

vmlathim

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
4
I haven't tried that, will do that next. I have apt this morning so will do so as soon as I get back. Thank you for your assistance.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
2,607
...... And since all of my other devices are working with not connectivity problem it isn't the security problem. The Toshiba "sees" the network......
Apologies if my post was not clear.... I didn't mean the Router, I meant the security settings on the Toshiba - either the security settings within Windows or 3rd-party security software.

T.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top