1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Win98 Installation Problem

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by stwriter, Jan 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stwriter

    stwriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Ok, here seems to be the problem: I've just reformated my HD. I've done everthing correctly (booted with the boot up disk, ran the Windows setup from DOS, when through all the configuring) up until it loads the new system settings afters you select regional settings, and it loads the control panel and other stuff. Soon after it restarts, I get a message asking for the boot up disk. I stick it in, and it begins to ask if I want to start with or without CD-ROM support, and then starts the Win98 setup again even though I've already done it. I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. Any help would be great, thanks.

    -stwriter
     
  2. Lem0njell0

    Lem0njell0

    Joined:
    May 3, 2001
    Messages:
    68
    Do you make a boot disk when it promts you when installing Windows?
     
  3. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    What exactly is it asking for? Please post the words on the screen.
     
  4. stwriter

    stwriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Addressing Lem0njell0's question: I usually skip making a boot disk simply because I have about five of them, but I tried it once and nothing was fixed.

    When Windows finished installing itself, it restarted leading up to message reading:

    Invalid systm disk
    Replace the disk, and then press any key

    Also, if I place a boot disk in and press Enter, it'll give me an option to boot from Hard Disk or boot from the CD-ROM.

    I don't understand why it asks this. It just finished installing Windows, why would it need to setup again?
     
  5. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
    Since it sounds like you are not trying to save any information on the hard drive, I would try to fdisk the drive, then format and try another install.

    Specific instructions, boot from your floppy and start the system without cd rom support. at the A: prompt type fdisk Follow the on screen instructions to first delete all partitions then create a primary dos partition. After that is finished, reboot the computer with your floppy and type format C: at the A: prompt. When that is finished, reboot with the floppy with cd rom support and try another install.

    Sounds like something went wrong the first time.

    Let us know.
     
  6. buf

    buf

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,998
    Just a guess but did you remove the floppy disk BEFORE you re-booted after installing windows?? I think that is the reason you got "invalid system disk" message.
    Hope this helps and post back to let us know your results.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64077

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice