Win98 Not responding then crashing

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chris70

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
Messages
6
I am having trouble with windows 98se.
When I try and run certain programs nothing appears to happen.
When i use ctr alt delete I can see the program.
If I press end task then it says the program is not responding.
If I confirm that I want windows to end the task,the screen and mouse freeze.
When I press ctr alt delete again it shows the blue screen and says that windows has become unstable.

Any ideas as to where to start ?

Many thanks

Chris
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
How much ram do you have?

What programs are you loading at startup?

Start, run, type msinfo32 and hit ok, go to software, startups, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
436
What are the certain programs, that would be important to know, also did these certain programs always do this or just recently. What hardware do you have? Many programs require alot of computer horsepower to just run properly, so that could be an issue. No way to even begin to sort it out without more details,
maritimesea
 

chris70

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
Messages
6
I only have 64mb of ram

List of programmes below

ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
IrMon Registry (Machine Run) IrMon.exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
AtiPTA Registry (Machine Run) Atiptaxx.exe
Ati2cwxx Registry (Machine Run) Ati2cwxx.exe
Zone Labs Client Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
AvconsoleEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
VsecomrEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
VsStatEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
ATIPOLAB Registry (Machine Service) ati2evxx.exe
TrueVector Registry (Machine Service) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Service) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE


Thanks
 

chris70

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
Messages
6
System Specs

Compaq Armada m300 p2 333
64 mb ram
6gb hard drive
PCMCIA cd rom

The last programme i cant get working is Rollercoaster Tycoon (the first version)

It worked fine yesterday


Thanks
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
64 megs of ram is simply not adequate for what you have running.

It may work, but it's going to be hit and miss.

You could try turning off the zonelabs and antivirus program to free up resources while you are playing the game.......but DO NOT go online during this time period...........OR, is this a game that is played online? Sorry, I'm not into gaming.
 

chris70

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 26, 2004
Messages
6
Thanks for the advice.

I didn't consider the lack of memory.

Sometimes you cant see the wood from the trees when your troubleshooting.

Many Thanks

Chris
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
AtiPTA Registry (Machine Run) Atiptaxx.exe
Ati2cwxx Registry (Machine Run) Ati2cwxx.exe
ATIPOLAB Registry (Machine Service) ati2evxx.exe


You can turn those off, they don't need to be running all the time.....that may help your situation.

Start, run, type msconfig and hit ok, go to the startup tab and uncheck, save changes and reboot.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
436
More ram will help if you can find it for an older motherboard,but your processor(333 mgz) is also going to cause problems if you have too many things running. So set your machine up to do one thing or the other, either games or the internet, not both. If your surfing turn your graphics accelerator off, and all programs like virus scanners and firewalls on. If you wanna play a game slide the graphics acccelerator on and all internet related programs off. Keep your machine clean and lean and you should be able to surf or play a game(as long as you meet the minimum requirements) without those crashes happening.
maritimesea
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top