win98 settings wont stay

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xxkhbxx

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
264
hey i got my win98 and i set up my drivers for my vid card and my sound card and sometimes when i restart i lose the settings i put in.. i lose my vid settings and my sound it all goes back to default. and thats not it some other things loses too like i play online games such as quake and i lose my game name and settings whenever u reboot help please thanks
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Try this first...Could be as simple as updating the drivers in system properties ...check & see if there are any new updates available............
or you may need to flash the bios... look it up under your pc's manufacterer for info on flashing.
last but not least you may need a new graphics display caed.
 

xxkhbxx

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
264
but its not just my video thats doing it.. its sound and also some applications thats not saving my settings =(
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Are you running Win98 SE? And how large is your Hard Drive? How fast is your processor?

There is a patch to fix a problem with too fast shudown as a result of having a combination of a fast processor and Large IDE Cache. The information in the cache cannot be written to the Drive before shutdown is completed. As a result, data is lost. This may be the case here.

To see if this applies to you have a look at this link. (But ony if you run Second edition. This doesn't aplly to Win 98 First Edition) if it does, download and install the Patch.
http://www.microsoft.com/Windows98/downloads/contents/WUCritical/q273017/Default.asp
 

xxkhbxx

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
264
cant i disable fast download from my pc... i have win98 i think its SE, ill find out but i have a 1.6 gig amd processor, just got it and this problem is driving me crazy
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
you sent me a pm... I don't know anymore than what I already told you... I'm sorry.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
That's a FAST processor. I take it you never applied the Shutdown Supplement. If you had done, you wouldn't have the Disable Fast Shutdown Option. (Don't apply the Supplement if you don't need it) Go ahead and disable Fast Shutdown. See if it helps. If so, great. If not, Download and apply the patch For Large Ide With fast processors I linked before.
 

xxkhbxx

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 25, 2001
Messages
264
thank u man im gonna go give it a shot now.. thanks all for the help
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top