Win98SE "complete" shutdown

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tdh2112

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
70
Hi all!

I remember seeing somewhere on some site at some time that there is a way, be it through a reg hack or a setting or something that you can make a pc "completely" shut down.

What I mean by this is I am using a machine at work that, when I shut down Win98, it will shut down and leave the "It's now safe to turn off your computer" message on the screen. The problem is, the box is tucked neatly in the back corner under my desk, and we have to shut down our pcs every night. I am willing to turn the machine on by crawling around, but shutting down is another story, as at that point I just want to get out of there and go home. No crawling at that time please.

My boss says that it is the type of mobo that does this and there is no fix, but I remember that there was something else.

Can anyone help me leave work on time more often?


-tim
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, Is it win98FE or Second Ed.? Networked? Does the boss care if you do this?
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Messages
1,058
I'm not sure how to do it through Windows, but I think you get special devices that plug in-line with a power cable (like a circuit breaker) with a timer you can set to turn it on or off at a certain time. This would work for you if you always go home at the same time each day and do not work overtime (nothing worse than working at a document for you're PC to cut out on you!)
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2002
Messages
3,520
Am I missing something here? TDH2112 wants to shut down his\she puter (98se OS) at night without crawling under the desk, is that right?
whatever happen to the start,shutdown,shutdown method...I must be asleep
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
The on / off switch must be on the back of the computer. How about getting a power strip and plugging it into that, then just hit the switch on the power bar. That's what I do with my old puter.
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, The person's problem is that the computer is way down, under their desk, toward the back...they just simply want automatic shutdown. Newer machines support this under win98, and we don't know the age/ type of computer they have.
Either that, or as someone said above, the power switch is on the back of the computer....I doubt that, there are power switches on some power supplies, but I have never seen a computer without a front switch, but have seen a few that were not working...which could also be the problem.
When a system like this has the drive formatted, or Setup Defaults may be loaded in the BIOS, this can also arise.
You have to go into the BIOS, and reset things....and in Windows, Power Management, set it to shut down when you click Shut Down. I think.
The Win98se shutdown patch may or may not help.
Probably the easiest and quickest way would be as Del says, get a power strip near enough to where you are sitting so you can hit that switch when the "It is now safe...etc" comes up.
I know lots of older, half crippled folks with computers that are set up this way, so they do not have to bend down.
Win98SE should shut down from Start>Shutdown, though, and if the poster wants to fool with it, I bet we can get it to!
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
I had a Compaq that is about 6 years old and the only switch was on the back of the tower, had it rigged with a power strip, used my toe to turn it on and off.
But then I'm not ticklish..
Do the same and put the strip where you can reach it easy.
 

tdh2112

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
70
Thanks all for your suggestions, but nothing has been able to do the trick yet. I tried the PM in the BIOS, and also PM under Win Control Panel, but there was no option in the CP for telling it to shut down.

For clarification, it is a Win98SE box, which is networked, but does not have connection to the internet.

Furthermore, Windows does shut down properly (I already applied the fixes), but the power supply does not shut off. Just the "It's now safe to turn off..." message stays on the screen. The power button is on the front of the box, but it is too far back to just reach it.

I may just have to do the power strip thing. Good thing I'm not ticklish either...


-tim
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top