1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

window 7 7600 not genuine

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Rolf45, Apr 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rolf45

    Rolf45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    I have a new dell computer and the hard drive and motherboard went up,the tech came and installed new of each when he tried to start up he got error 700 so he took my discs that came with the pc and loaded them into it and now here I sit on Easter Sunday and my pc keeps flashing -"Windows 7 Build 7600 This copy of Windows is not Genuine". what should I do now call them and make them bring me another new hd and reload everything again or is there another fix short of reinstalling?????
     
  2. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
  3. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Another thought, it could be a simple process --- you just need to activate it.....do you know if the tech did that?
     
  4. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    I wasn't aware that new Dells were shipping with RTM versions of Windows 7...
     
  5. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,385
    First Name:
    David
    What do you thintk RTM means?
    This is the ONLY verstion that has been released for shipping.
     
  6. Rolf45

    Rolf45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Well Guys so far my system just goes from bad to worse and dealing with dell is mind blowing they tell me its a software problem and I say Yes it is the preloaded hard-drive you sent and your tech installed has corrupted files and they say pay us 230.00 and we will fix.When I point out that they sent it that way they answer yes and pay us and we fix(that's extortion right ?). Any way none of the fixes I can find on line work and the system is getting worse.
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    If it is a new Dell computer then it is under warranty and they have to fix. As far as I recall all new computers from Dell come with at least a one year warranty.

    If they are not helping you then file a complaint with the BBB.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,826
    First Name:
    Terry
    I too think that the most important issue here is whether the Dell is still under warranty. If they are saying that hardware is covered but software is not, point out to them that they installed new hardware and the computer is still not working properly. The operating system was part of your purchase and should still work after any warranty repair. Thus, they haven't properly fixed the hardware problem yet.

    In case this fight is not won, what are the "discs that came with the pc"? Windows 7 installation DVDs? Recovery DVDs/CDs? Resource/Drivers CDs?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914673

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice