Window 7 won't backup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

alexpinca

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
1
I am using Windows 7. It has a built in back up system that call for a dvd to backup. I've placed the dvd in the drive and each time it hangs up in the 25% complete point. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. :confused:
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
For some reason,windows 7 likes to popup additional
windows behind the existing windows.
Check the taskbar for an extra button that may or may not be flashing.
There may be a message window hiding behing the main window
that is asking for another DVD.
It takes a lot of dvd's to backup.
It would be better to use a second or external hard drive.
 

antech

Banned
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
1,427
Can you please reveal the size of the Backups that you are making?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,638
FWIW I would not be using windows backup for anything other than data files. If you are attempting to backup the complete system, you need imaging software ie acronis true image or macrium reflect.

If you are attempting a simple data backup, just copy the data files to an external drive, second hard drive, NAS, network share etc.

Post exactly what you are trying to accomplish with this backup.
 
Joined
May 25, 2004
Messages
1,243
my new hp does the same thing. under "backup or restore files" you have the option to let windows decide which files or you can manually decide for yourself which files to backup, then it asks you where you want to back up those files to, personal media device or dvd/cd etc. i chose dvd because i don't have a pmd yet, so i click "backup" and it decides which files off my C drive to backup, then asks for a dvd to be inserted in drive which is done, then you can view progress and it never gets past 25%! from what i've read googling, happens quite often with windows 7 home prem but there's no real solution other than as you say, backup to an external source which basically, what a dvd is.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Messages
732
I too have seen this problem. I use both Acronis and Windows 7 backup. I have not tried using Windows 7 to a DVD, but I have used it to backup to internal SATA, removable IDE and USB attached drives. All of them have issued backup failures on a regular basis. After running the windows diagnostic section of Backup, it tells me to run chkdsk /r on both the source and target drives. If I do that and run the backup again, it will fail again. However if I re-run the backup right after the error, it completes with no problems. Now this issue really leaves some doubt in my mind that Windows 7 Backup saved anything. Well about 5 weeks ago, I had a viral problem, which necessitated me to restore my system. I had backups completed via Acronis and Windows 7. I chose to restore the Windows 7 backup image. It successfully restored my system. So it looks like Window 7 Backup when it completes successfully, provides the backup security that you need.

Some day I may find out why it fails on a regular basis and I will let everybody know the cause.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Top