1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

window auto updates

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by msmolinski21, Sep 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. msmolinski21

    msmolinski21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    I recently uninstalled sp2 from my computer and now I am having the following problem... When I go to the automatic updates in control panel, everything is in grey and I can't click on anything or change the options. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i have the same with sp2,according to ms you are not logged on as administrator,i only have admin accounts on the comp.i update manually
     
  3. msmolinski21

    msmolinski21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    I only have one account on xp which is an administrator one and I do not have sp2. How can I fix it?
     
  4. alphanumeric

    alphanumeric

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Doesn't SP2 install a new version of windows update and steer you to a new windows update site? Maybe you're just going to the wrong site, you may have to change the link back to the old windows update site.
     
  5. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    i have not found an answer to it yet,i pushed it to one side when i lost my desktop and all associated with the administrator account i was using trying to sought it out,and i connect to version5
     
  6. msmolinski21

    msmolinski21 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    How do I change the link back to the old window update site?
     
  7. alphanumeric

    alphanumeric

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    I don't know how you change it, if that is your problem. I'm running win 2k and this is the windows update site I end up at. Windows update The url is as follows: http://[b]v4[/b].windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp
    I think XP uses v5 after sp2.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273897

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice