1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Window size

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by karbo, Apr 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. karbo

    karbo Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    Whenever I ask for Windows Update in the start menu, the window that appears is always small. Is there a way of making it open large by default ?
     
  2. LONGHAIR

    LONGHAIR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,525
    Sure there is. Just drag the entire window to the upper left corner of the screen. Then put your arrow on the lower right corner of the window. Hold down the shift key, press and hold the left mouse button, drag the corner to the lower right of the screen. Release the mouse button and the shift key. Now close the window and re-open it to be sure it worked.
     
  3. karbo

    karbo Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    But why does it do it in the first place ? Is there a special setting to configure ?

    Thanks
     
  4. karbo

    karbo Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,239
    bump
     
  5. LONGHAIR

    LONGHAIR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,525
    I was just not set to open "full screen" by default. No problem, it's fixed, Right?
     
  6. Marc`

    Marc`

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Hi Karbo,

    I think I know what you're talking about. Whenever you open a new window, it doesn't maximise. There's an easy way to make sure it maximises by default. Go to www.jiisoft.com/iemaximiser/index.htm and download Maximiser. In the options, ensure it starts on boot up. This ought to fix the problem.

    Regards,
    Marc
     
  7. LONGHAIR

    LONGHAIR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,525
    All you need to do is the method I suggested. It is a "one-time" fix, no need for 3rd party software clogging up the works.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/221035

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice