1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 10 invalid login credentials after joining domain

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by runthegemz, Aug 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. runthegemz

    runthegemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Joined domain, unable to login with admin credentials, other user accounts. Can only login with local account.
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Try un-joining the PC from the domain, rebooting, removing the computer object from Active Directory, and then re-joining. Remember: if you're logging into a machine with Domain Admin credentials, you will have to specify the domain name before the Admin account. As an example: if your domain is called MyDomain and the Domain Admin account is Administrator, you should authenticate using MyDomain\Administrator as the account name, and then enter the associated password.
     
  3. runthegemz

    runthegemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you! Unfortunately, still experiencing the same issue.
     
  4. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Is the local account a Microsoft account, e.g. created in association with an e-mail address, or created purely on the PC?
     
  5. runthegemz

    runthegemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Created purely on the PC.
     
  6. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Okay, I need some specificity here. When you try to log into the domain, which exact message appears? When you log in with the local account and then look at System, does it show the PC is actually a member of the domain? Can you see it in AD if you check from the server side?
     
  7. runthegemz

    runthegemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    "Invalid login credentials. Please try again".
    Yes, it shows the computer as a member of the domain when signing into the local account and I can view the device in AD.
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,387
    To logon with the local accounts, you have to use this format: <my-pc-name>\<the-account-name>
     
  9. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    That's not the issue, though. It's authenticating with a domain account which is causing problems.
     
  10. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Are you absolutely sure the account you're using is a member of the Domain Administrators group? If it's not, are there any policies in place restricting which accounts can log into which PCs? I would check the Group Policy Management Console (GPMC) and check which policies - if any - are applying against the OU containing the Computer object.
     
  11. runthegemz

    runthegemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you. I will do this and report back.
     
  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,581
    First Name:
    David
    How did you join this domain?

    Most Domain Networks are controlled by the Admin's at the Domain Server level.
    Do you have physical access to the domain server?
    If not where is it?
     
  13. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,425
    Some more suggestions to consider:

    1. How is DHCP handled within the domain?
    2. Does the Domain Controller (DC) have more than one IP address?
    3. Can you ping the DC from the Win 10 machine when you log into the local account?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1176055

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice