Solved Windows 10 OEM machine can not access upgraded machine

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DaveA

David
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,926
2 windows 7 machines upgraded to Windows 10, these machines can see and access a OEM Windows 10 machine, but it can not access the ones that were upgrade to Windows 10.
The OEM is on Network 2 and the others are on Network 3 and 7.
These all worked before the upgrades.

What do I need to look for on what machines?



Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4350 CPU @ 3.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 8063 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 476372 MB, Free - 381797 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC., Q87M-E
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.18362.239]
(c) 2019 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\WINDOWS\system32>IPCONFIG /ALL
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP-FSPSAFC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net
Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-LM
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1C-87-2C-59-C2-23
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:603:4880:eb5::905a(Preferred)
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 18, 2019 8:19:16 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, July 23, 2019 9:16:10 AM
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:603:4880:eb5:e48b:bec5:44f5:e25a(Preferred)
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2601:603:4880:eb5:e490:c445:570f:4995(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e48b:bec5:44f5:e25a%4(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.219(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 18, 2019 8:19:14 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 25, 2019 8:19:14 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::250:f1ff:fe80:0%4
10.0.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 85755692
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1D-DB-CD-BA-1C-87-2C-59-C2-23
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
75.75.76.76
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,374
Look under advanced sharing (or something like that)

Make sure Network discovery is turned on. Also make sure you're on a private/work network. Not a public one.
 

DaveA

David
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,926
Network discovery is ON and is set for Private on all machines.

Win10-OEM (Cat5) Color printer (Shared) (This machine is my prime)
Wind10-Home (Upgraded from Win7) (Cat5)
Win10-Pro (Upgraded from Win7) (Cat5) HP Laser Printer (Shared)
Win8.1 laptop (WiFi)
Win7 laptop (WiFi)

From all machines except for the OEM Win10, I can see all other 4 machines.
We can print to color printer from all machines.
We can print to the HP Laser from all machine except for the Win10-OEM machine
 

DaveA

David
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,926
Yes they are all on the same Workgroup.
The attached a listing of the devices connected to the Comcast Modem/router
The Amazon connections are Kindles, the bc:ff;...…… is a cell phone and the other are self explained.

As one can see all are connected.
It seems that the Desktop-FSPSAFC is blocked by the other two ethernet connected devices, but, where are the settings that do this?
NretworkConnectedDevices.PNG
 

Fireflycph

Morten
Joined
Apr 1, 2016
Messages
1,374
I doubt there's a setting in the router to block access to one/from one device only. There may be? It'd probably be under Firewall.

Which AV and firewall s/w are you using on the machines?
 

DaveA

David
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,926
Windows 10 firewall
 

DaveA

David
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,926
OK, I changed the "Shared Devices from" to "Everyone" in the Shared Experiences window.
Now, it all works the way it should.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top