1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 2000 install trouble

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Jay Nichols, Jan 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jay Nichols

Jay Nichols Thread Starter

Hi, thanks in advance for your help. I'm a complete amateur trying to install WIndows 2000 onto my laptop from a boot disk. I've just completed the 4-disk install and received the error message "Setup cannot find a CD-ROM drive." Can someone provide help? I have the WIndows 2000 Pro cd. Thanks again. Kindly, Jay

2. perseous

perseous

Sounds like lack of drivers. In stead of tring to install from disks just use the cd. One way to do this is make a start up disk of
    win 98 or higher and boot from that. It will ask if you want cd-rom support say yes. When you get to the prompt (a:\) type in your cd-rom letter and colon and press enter. Then cd\i386 and enter.
    From there just type winnt. The set up will start and just follow the prompts.

3. Jay Nichols

Thanks for your suggestion. First things first . . . how do I make a start up disk of WIndows 2000 pro? Thanks again! Jay

I made the boot disks because my hard drive is formatted.

4. Brooks

Brooks Guest

You can still use the 2000 CD to install from even though your drive is formatted. It will always ask if you want to format or leave the current file system intact. Just have it use the current file system.

For a bootdisk, download this file and run the program. This will automatically create a Win98 boot disk for you.

5. Jay Nichols

thanks, I'll try it and let you know. Jay

6. Jay Nichols