1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 2000, reformat after virus

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by p.cutillo, Sep 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. p.cutillo

    p.cutillo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I caught a virus on one machine that seemed to be connected to explorer. I did not have firewall at the time but had symantic works with the updates. I now have internet security. Anyway, upon conducting a format of the drive, which goes to 100%, the win2K starts to load. The OS loads only to 13% and stops at driver.cab. Then I get a blue screen stating:

    Hardware malfunction, call your hardware vendor for support.
    NMI: Parity check/Parity Memory Error.
    The system has halted.
    :confused:
    Can anyone help??????
     
  2. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    so you saying windows never load after you format and install windows 2000 ?
     
  3. p.cutillo

    p.cutillo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    that is correct! I tried reformatting in both ntfs (preferred) and fat32 and get the same results. :(
     
  4. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    ok do this reset your bios to optimal defaults
     
  5. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
  6. p.cutillo

    p.cutillo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    rgr that. I restarted the process. May take a little while. I'm assuming to check the ram with the file after win2K loads successfully?! Should I hook the pc back up to the modem and check before I load other programs like norton sysworks and internet security? :confused:
     
  7. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    the ram you can check before win2k load make a bootdisk and dont hook the moden or any USB divices only after windows 2k load with np
     
  8. p.cutillo

    p.cutillo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    how do I check the ram without a good OS load? Can u step me thru it?
    I set the bios to optimal defaults. I let the memory check run.
    I still get the same results. :confused:
     
  9. natcom

    natcom

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,243
    well use the machine you are on now and download the bootdisk to check your ram from dos is all on that site i give you
     
  10. p.cutillo

    p.cutillo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    will do. thanks.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271419

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice