1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows 2000 synch clock with internet time server

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by iissmart, Dec 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. iissmart

    iissmart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    i used the
    • net time /setsntp:time-nw.nist.org
    • net stop w32time
    • net start w32time
    commands in my command prompt window, restarted, did everything, but my clock doesnt seem to update at all...i've set the time 1 hr and some random minutes ahead, and it doesnt change...anybody know how to get it to work?

    [edit] i've realized that theres another code used...its
    • w32tm ┬ľonce
    where that goes between the
    • net stop w32time
    • [here]
    • net start w32time
    but that doesnt seem to do anything either...
     
  2. zephyr

    zephyr

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,324
    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>net time /?
    The syntax of this command is:


    NET TIME
    [\\computername | /DOMAIN[:domainname] | /RTSDOMAIN[:domainname]] [/SET]
    [\\computername] /QUERYSNTP
    [\\computername] /SETSNTP[:ntp server list]
     
  3. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    I get no ping response from the domain name. Which might be why you are not time synching.

    try using time.nist.gov

    After you have everything set do a

    net time /querysntp
     
  4. iissmart

    iissmart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    hey kool, thanks now it actually works!!

    what time server would be the "best" one, like which one would be the most accurate with the lowest ping? or which one is the most popular?
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Dont really know, but I believe you can setup multiple time servers just my typing the address one after the other.

    net time /sntp:time.nist.gov ntp2.usno.navy.mil tock.usno.navy.mil

    I use thes for my network because they are the closest ones geopgraphically.

    server ntp1.cs.wisc.edu
    server ntp-1.cso.uiuc.edu
    server ntp-0.cso.uiuc.edu

    My server time syncs with those and then my client sync with my server.
     
  6. zephyr

    zephyr

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,324
    Here's some more on the command syntax. As for a reliable time server, I always found either tock.usno.navy.mil or tick.usno.navy.mil to be the most reliable for me.

    COMMAND LINE SHOT:

    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>net help time | more
    The syntax of this command is:


    NET TIME
    [\\computername | /DOMAIN[:domainname] | /RTSDOMAIN[:domainname]] [/SET]
    [\\computername] /QUERYSNTP
    [\\computername] /SETSNTP[:ntp server list]

    NET TIME synchronizes the computer's clock with that of another computer
    or domain, or displays the time for a computer or domain. When used without
    options on a Windows Server domain, it displays the current
    date and time at the computer designated as the time server for the domain.
    This command allows setting the NTP timeserver for computername.

    \\computername Is the name of the computer you want to check or
    synchronize with.

    /DOMAIN[:domainname] Specifies to synchronize the time from the Primary Domain
    Controller of domainname.

    /RTSDOMAIN[:domainname] Specifies to synchronize with a Reliable Time Server
    from domainname.

    /SET Synchronizes the computer's time with the time
    on the specified computer or domain.
    /QUERYSNTP Displays the currently configured NTP server for this computer
    /SETSNTP[:ntp server list]
    Sets the NTP time servers to be used by this computer. This
    may be a list of IP addresses or DNS names separated by spaces.
    If multiple timeservers are listed, the list must be surrounded
    by quotes.

    NET HELP command | MORE displays Help one screen at a time.


    C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>
     
  7. iissmart

    iissmart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    so, it would be like

    net time /setsntp:"tick.usno.navy.mil tock.usno.navy.mil"

    and i could put as many as i wanted in the list to get my clock to be extremely accurate?
     
  8. zephyr

    zephyr

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,324
    Apparently so, but I've never used multiples so can't really be sure. I would guess it would stop after it contacted a viable one, but I'm guessing.

    BTW, the accuracy is the same from any of them since they all are marked to the atomic clock maintained by your tax dollars.
     
  9. iissmart

    iissmart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    my clock now reads 11:49, but all the other clocks in my house read 11:44.....i thought my clock was set to tick.usno.navy.mil and tock.usno.navy.mil......i tried doing
    • net time /querysntp
    and it says the command completed successfully, but my clock is still 5 minutes off....how can i manually ping the time servers so that my clock adjusts to the correct time? ive waited many days for it to re-ping the time servers, because i know that they wait every 8 hours or something to that extent, but it hasnt changed yet....
     
  10. iissmart

    iissmart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    wait wait, i just noticed that my Windows Time Service was stopped and it was set to Manual startup....i could have sworn that i set it to Auto....

    ok, my clock is adjusted correctly, problem solved
     
  11. iissmart

    iissmart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    215
    Is there a website where I can find the server that is closest to me?
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/184268

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice