1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 2000 Terminal Services License Server

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by malifluous, Jan 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. malifluous

malifluous Thread Starter

Hello my name is Adam. I am a desktop/lan admin for a warehouse supply company in New York. We run a strictly Windows 2000 domain with about 70 computers and maybe 3 or 4 Windows XP machines. I recently enabled a Terminal Services Server to allow 3 or 4 of my users to run database intensive Apps on the server. The reason for this is when they use specific functions in our "in house application" the app freezes up until it has finished its process (allocation of goods for large orders, takes about an hour tops). The app freezes up to do its job and the user is left with nothing to do because they cant touch the app until its done. So by enabling terminal services for them, they can run there allocations on the Terminal server, minimize it and keep doing there work on there computers.

Now, along with the Terminal Service Server, I am aware I need a Terminal service license server enabled on the network within 90 days. I have yet to enable a license server because I am somewhat unclear on its neccesity. I have read in the microsoft documentation

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...s/default.mspx