1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 2003 Server with Ralink Wireless Adapter

Discussion in 'Networking' started by JennyGW, Feb 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JennyGW

    JennyGW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hi ! :)

    I've been in IT a good while, but I can't get to the bottom of this problem, any help would be much appreciated.

    My configuration:-

    O2 business broadband with Thomson router installed about a year ago.

    Windows 2003 Server with all SPs and Updates applied.
    Ralink Wireless USB network adapter.

    There are 2 workstation PC's, one cabled to the router and the other with the same wireless adapter as the server.

    All boxes have a static IP/DNS assigned.

    The problem:-

    Intermittently the 2003 Server loses connection with the network. Occasionally it seems to recover on its own, more often it requires a server reboot.

    The server can sometimes maintain connectivity for days, sometimes only minutes, it seems to be getting worse.

    Efforts so far:-

    I updated the Raltech adapter drives to the latest available from the Railtech site. This made no difference.

    I installed wireless network monitoring software called Insider. This shows all Wi-fi devices in range of the server. There are about 10 networks in ranges. Most are on channels 6 and 11 and one is on channel 13.

    My router was configured to channel 1 and at the advice of O2 support I tried different channels. This made no difference.

    The server is in a bad location (lots of electrical equipment) so I moved it into the same room as the router, about 3 yards apart. This made no difference.

    I am more than happy to buy a booster if it will fix my problem, but as it made little or no difference when I moved the server I'm reluctant to spend out on something that may not fix my problem.

    Many thanks in advance for any help and ideas.

    Jenny
     
  2. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    I'm only going to respond by saying that using wireless on a production server is just a horrible idea.
     
  3. JennyGW

    JennyGW Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    It isn't a production server, it is a development server for my own use. I'm a web developer.

    Did you have any ideas about my problem?

    Thanks,
    Jenny
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089086

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice