1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Windows 7, 8 or 10?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by thewolfe, Apr 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thewolfe

    thewolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    I'm thinking about buying a PC, what should be considering, Windows 7, 8 or 10
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,576
    Myself? I'd go with 8.1 currently. I'm actually looking at a few laptops at the time, found some that fit my budget and needs, leaning towards the hp stream for $200. I don't game, work IT, and travel frequently, so I need something reliable, lightweight, and able to play with my companies infrastructure. Works great for me.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,670
    First Name:
    Frank
    Advise us how much computer knowledge you have and how long you've been using a particular Windows version.

    Also advise us if you want a laptop or a desktop and what your primary uses for it will be.

    Windows 8 and 10 are quite different and have a bigger learning curve than Windows XP and Vista and 7.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. renegade600

    renegade600

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    if it was me, I would get the latest, which would be win8.1, add classic shell and upgrade just as soon as win10 is released. You never know what your future software needs will be and you may need something that will only run on the latest.
     
  5. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    you can upgrade to win' 10 free with 7 or 8 ......... windows 7 is excellent............ people seems to be 50/50 on windows 8/8.1
     
  6. thewolfe

    thewolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    I'm very proficient finding my way around a computer. Changing RAM, HD's trouble shooting stuff for my friends.

    I have a Dell 580 desktop running Win7 - 64 bit, 8GB's RAM, Core i5.

    My HD is about full and I'm thinking rather than wiping mine out and taking 4 or 5 days to get it back where I want it, I would buy a new one and use my old one until I got the new one just like I like it.
     
  7. replay

    replay

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,536
    buy the larger harddrive and just clone the old to the new......

    just reread the post.............you are talking about buying a new computer :eek:
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,670
    First Name:
    Frank
    (y)

    Go into the Recycle Bin properties, then change the custom size to 3% (in MB's) of the hard drive's capacity.

    Go into System Protection, then configure the hard drive to use 3% of its capacity.

    Use Temp File Cleaner By OldTimer (TFC.exe) to delete the temp file buildup.

    After all 3 have been done, restart the computer.

    That may reclaim sufficient free space for you.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. thewolfe

    thewolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Thanks Flavallee,

    I also used "WinDirStat" progie and saw I had a lot tied up in Win 8 iso's I created to use with VirtualBox. I deleted them and that helped also.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,670
    First Name:
    Frank
    :) (y)
     
  11. thewolfe

    thewolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Any downside to Win 8 with Classic Shell?
     
  12. renegade600

    renegade600

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    nope - never had a problem.
     
  13. thewolfe

    thewolfe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Looking at a Dell that has Win 7 Pro & Win 8.1 Pro. How does that work? Are they both loaded on the computer?
     
  14. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    Are you sure it's not Windows 7 installed with a free upgrade to 8.1? I've never heard of dell including 2 operating systems pre-installed on new computers.
     
  15. ttifrum

    ttifrum

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    You'll probably find it is licensed for Win 8.1 Pro which has downgrade rights to Win 7 Pro. Dell will have installed 7 on it and will either supply a set of Win 8.1 recovery discs, or give you the means to upgrade to 8.1 by running the built in recovery program, this may also then give you the option to restore to 7 if you don't like 8.1
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145894

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice