1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

windows 7 and graphics card and blue screens

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by hamlet23, Feb 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hamlet23

    hamlet23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Hello
    I have recently bought Toshiba Satellite A500 - 19X (windows 7, 64 bit) and the graphics card is NVIDIA GeForce® G 210M
    the laptop suddently freezes and then a bluescreen appears with error message, dumping physical memroy and nvlddmkm.sys
    i searched and as i understood that the graphics card driver is incompatible with w7!!!! (the current driver version is 8.15.11.8642)
    i downloaded the driver from toshiba and tried installing it, but it gives me error message (not compatible woth 32 bit, although my laptop is 64bit!!!!)
    can anyone help me with this ASAP as it is really irritating??
     
  2. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Is this brand new?
     
  3. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    Try getting the driver from nvidea directly


    Ken
     
  4. hamlet23

    hamlet23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Yes it is brand new
    and i tried getting the driver from nvidia directly, but its not there. when i searched for it, they said refer to the manufacturer because it offers additional features (ie, download it from toshiba)
     
  5. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    was the driver win 7 or vista 64bit? if vista, you need to install in compatibility mode.
    (right click>properties>compatibility>vista

    ken
     
  6. hamlet23

    hamlet23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
  7. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
  8. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    If it's brand new, it should work out of the box! Did you call the manufacturer????
     
  9. hansdek12

    hansdek12

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I have the exact same problem and have sent the machine back for repair. After being away for 1 week, it came back and the same problem again! Very unhappy. Spoke to Toshiba and they have not been able to pinpoint the problem, machine has go go back again!

    This is the error:
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 3081

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 116
    BCP1: FFFFFA8007B95010
    BCP2: FFFFF88005041F90
    BCP3: FFFFFFFFC000009A
    BCP4: 0000000000000004
    OS Version: 6_1_7600
    Service Pack: 0_0
    Product: 768_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\022610-21200-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Hans\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-56378-0.sysdata.xml

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
     
  10. hamlet23

    hamlet23 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    well i used to uninstall the current driver and try to reinstall from the file i downloaded from toshiba, but this never worked.
    so i tried this time to keep the current driver as is and reinstall the driver from toshiba. the good news is that it went through the installing procedure correctly. the bad news is that i had the blue screen again. (once, and i hope it doesnt reoccur again!)

    about calling the manufacturer, i bought this laptop online from uk, now i am in a different country and it wont work calling them!
     
  11. Hughv

    Hughv

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    8,450
    I can't imagine why you can't call them. You might even get some help calling the USA support.
     
  12. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Or India? :eek: :D
     
  13. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    274
    did you install the driver in compatibility mode? If it was a vista driver you need to right click the installer>propoerties>compatibility>vista

    Good Luck

    Ken
     
  14. Snuffy1

    Snuffy1

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    112
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/903931

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice